Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

First day back at university!

on September 24, 2012

Here I am, hoping to settle back into the swing of university nice and quickly although today I’m absolutely petrified because it’s my first meeting with the dissertation tutor and I don’t remember what my dissertation proposal actually was… Sounds worse than it is, but basically I submitted a proposal waaay back in June, it got approved but I can’t remember what the precise wording of it was. So today I’m heading into a meeting with a leading expert to discuss what I want to write about and hope that this isn’t the first of many tearful encounters.

Happier topics before I start drowning the laptop! London was lovely, and that comes from somebody who can’t stand big cities. We arrived late-ish on Friday night in Wimbledon after no problems whatsoever with the trip, got a lift back to Sister dearest’s flat and cracked open a beautiful bottle of red wine from their holiday in Italy as it was only the four of us at that point. Drunken debauchery followed, I sadly don’t remember a fair portion of the evening except I know that I behaved appallingly. Teaches me never to drink vast quantities on an empty stomach again!

Saturday was spent recovering – Hairy and I slept on the floor cuddling a sofa cushion and holding hands, and my amazing sister cooked us a full english in the morning. I was so happy I could have cried! Massive hangover all day, but we did manage to drag ourselves to Hyde Park which was beautiful. Originally planned to check out Natural History Museum, but that failed and we just sat in the park all afternoon and enjoyed the little bit of sun that was out! It didn’t really feel like being in London at all, it was so beautiful. We got amazing muffins from the cafe on The Serpentine, shared mine with Hairy because he doesn’t really like sweet things.

Sunday we came back home again, and it was great to be back in our flat. Grabbed lunch in St Pancras – got some pretty damn tasty pasties from the West Cornish Pasty company, although I was thoroughly miffed by the guy behind the counter! I asked about a student discount, as there had been one in there the last time I went through but there were no signs about it this time and he seemed thoroughly disgruntled and insisted on writing down the information on my student card! They’ve also got an offer in there that if they don’t give you a receipt then you get your food free. Well the blokey forgot our receipt, so we went back but he said he couldn’t do it as he’d written down my student information on the back of it. Fool of a took.

But back on topic! I’m back at university today, so I may not be around as much as I’d like to be. (Or possibly I’ll never leave the safety of my blog!) I’ve just been double checking my timetable, logging in to sign up for seminars and the like… I haven’t got too much going on this week apart from registering and getting all the handbooks and that malarkey. At Guides tonight we’ve got someone coming in to make bread which should be fun for the girls. I’m still checking my bank balance feverishly – my student loan is due in today and I could really do with having more than £12 available to me!

I also found out that I’m not alone in my crazily early Christmas planning – Sister dearest is doing it too, and we’re both looking forward to the whole experience. This year should be beautiful – we’re heading to a Christmas market at Chatsworth House and I’m expecting to spend way too much money again! Are you making plans yet, or are you too excited about Hallowe’en?

What do you do when you’re in London? Do you  behave awfully when rascally drunk, and what’s your favourite hangover cure? Turns out mine was a curry we didn’t have until 9pm! Wish me luck with my dissertation meeting 🙂


3 responses to “First day back at university!

  1. Lol, I’m glad I’m not the only one who checks repeatedly their balance the day the student loan is due…last year I even went so far to do a (involuntary) little jig at the ATM when I checked my balance and realised I had money again…its only when I heard a cough that I realised there was someone behind me 😛 And good luck on your dissertation meeting 🙂

    • Thanks for making me feel less like a weirdo! Normally when I’ve found out that my money’s in, I take out way more than I’m going to need and then feel incredibly guilty for the rest of the day 🙂

      I love the idea of people doing funny jigs in public – I do it a lot myself and my Hairy did a crazy Kermit wave earlier 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting! 😀

      • I know what you mean, but personally I’m that person who then goes to Tesco and (because she now can) buys silly things which aren’t really needed 😛 Last year it was a basket overloaded with cookies and pringles 😛

Leave a comment

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

A Texan's View of Life

Kids, Books, Army, & More

Cee's Photo Challenges

Teaching the art of composition for photography.

SoundEagle 🦅ೋღஜஇ

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

MonPlaysGames

plus added randomness...

Janice Hall Heck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!â„¢

It's Just Life

Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary

The Life of Kylie

Laugh. Think. Cry.