Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Is this the end?

on November 29, 2013

Friday, November 29, 2013
You’re almost there! Tell us how you feel about endings.

I think like most people, I have mixed feelings about endings. I hate it when a show that I’ve been enjoying ends early (looking at you, Jericho and Warehouse 13) and I end up feeling in limbo because there hasn’t been a decent resolution. I also hate shows that finish on a cliff hanger just to get you to watch the next series! I’ve been watching Luther on Netflix with Hairy and it’s been rather amazing and I’m sad to see the end of it. Luckily each series is a self contained story that could be continued but is satisfying enough that I could just leave it.

Ends of relationships, whether romantic or platonic friendships, always make me sad. It’s the loss of potential that upsets me most and the fact that I end up missing the good times that I can’t go back to. I think the worst thing about the ending of a relationship is that it’s so messy. You can end up in a position that you never expected, hurting other people without realising how or why and it just sucks. It’s messier than an incomplete book ending, rarely happens for a good reason and always has wider repercussions whether you ended it or the other person did.

The ending of a good book or film is always a bittersweet pain/pleasure moment because if it’s done well then you’ve been looking forward to the climax of the story for ages and you desperately want to know the ending but have the book go on forever as well. I love and hate books that hook you in that sort of way! I always revisit those books and get caught in the same conundrum of dragging my metaphorical reading feet because reading it is such an act of pleasure in itself.

Sometimes I look forward to things ending. I really wanted university to be done with so I could move on with my life and get “things” accomplished. Now university feels about a million years ago, like I did it in a different life time. I can’t get over the feeling that I’m just waiting to go back to study next week. On academic related things, I don’t think anything can quite compete with the feeling of finishing an essay and even if it wasn’t an amazing one, having that feeling of “At least it’s done” and then being able to relax again.

The end of a long term project always brings satisfaction but then a sad moment of loss when you have to figure out how to fill the time that you now have because your thing is done. I’ve had ups and downs with NaBloPoMo; it’s been great discovering new blogs and pushing myself to make sure that I keep posting regularly but it’s also been really hard to make the time and find the energy to find something to write about every day. I’ve enjoyed blogging regularly and fulfilling the prompts because it’s meant that I have to write about more than just my life. With the end of NaBloPoMo in sight I’m just about ready to sigh in relief and take a few days off from blogging!

I guess in the end, something always has to end in order for something new to take its place. It would be easiest to stay in one place and never feel the loss of something great coming to an end, but then you’d never find the next awesome thing that’ll change your life. I will have to say that I’m more about the journey though, I don’t want it ever to end. One of the daftest things I’m looking forward to this weekend is the coach trip down to London; I’m really looking forward to seeing my sister, spending time doing typical Christmas things around the city and possibly visiting a city farm (!!!!) but I like the actual act of traveling places too. I like to sit and watch the world go by and it’s always a rude awakening when my journey ends.

Leave a Reply

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

This blog is often dimensionally transcendental.

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

Niki's Thoughts

The Musings of a Texan

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays WoW

I summon demons and shatter souls!

JaniceHeck

My Time to Write, but The Cats have The Last Meow!

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create By Any Means Necessary!

It's Just Life

Finding the Extraordinary in the Ordinary.

Larks Notes This

All these things naturally bundle themselves together. Like, "Why wouldn't you buy an engagement ring while you're picking up a George Foreman grill and tube socks?"

Not a Punk Rocker

Embracing my dorkiness, embarrassing my kid & blogging for the hell of it.

Life of Kylie

Laugh. Think. Cry.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

