Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Words are funny old things.

on September 6, 2012

I know, I know. Two posts in one day? What on earth could I be thinking? How on earth can I sustain such profilic outpourings? But hey ho, I guess I’ll learn to live with it.

I was just trying to categorise myself as I was pootling around sorting out my clothes from being home in Kent. I often play little games like that in my head, particularly when I’m trying to do chores. Once I started writing a personal for my boyfriend as I was walking to uni – not because I want to be rid of him or anything like that, I just started doing it and it made me happy to think of his good qualities. But anywho, back to me. I’m important in all this πŸ˜€ Apart from you, obviously. Do you do play little games in your head?

It got me to thinking about the term “alternative”. Recently one of my friends was asking about my sister, whether she was alternative like me. Honestly it made me do a double take; having spent the majority of my teens trying to be alternative and then finally settling down into an acceptance of me as me, to be classed as “alternative” made me think. What does alternative actually mean? You do a search on ebay for “alternative dress” and it comes up with the tags and what people think is alternative clothing. Thinking about it like that, it’s turned into a tag word for a group of people who can identify strongly with being other than the norm.

But then how can you fight it? You get tagged wherever you go, you get nicknames and you belong to a group and you identify with a word. I love words. I love finding the perfect word for a person or a feeling or whatever needs describing. The connotations are the difficult bits to control, as it feels like everyone infers something different from the original meaning. Or so it feels sometimes. A personal favourite of mine is “erudite” – the word I use to describe my Hairy’s cleverness. He’s learned, knowledgeable, educated, somehow Latinate and antiquated. It makes me think of the wise old owl. What’s your favourite word?

By the way, this is how alternative I am. I like to run around in my cloak πŸ˜€

5 responses to “Words are funny old things.

  1. Carrie Rubin says:

    When people ask what type of music I like, I say “alternative rock” since that’s what it’s called. But I’ve often wondered why. What’s alternative about it? Glad I’m not alone in my musings. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I appreciate it!

  2. […] did two posts on that first day. First was just an introductory one, a bit boring to be honest. The second one is a little bit embarrassing! I remember sitting down and writing it, feeling a bit awkward […]

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

