Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Trying not to be a grumpy mare.

on September 13, 2012

Tonight is bro night for my Hairy. His brother lives up here in Nottingham, currently staying with us, and every Thursday they spend the evening doing bro-tastic stuff. Currently Hairy’s downstairs sorting out his pipe, and Skyrim is on the TV. I did kinda have plans for the evening, but then they got cancelled so I’m quite tempted to head out to the pub on my own and have a few.

After feeling rotten all day, Hairy got home, I had a good cry and we had a shower which made me feel better. No idea why, I just suddenly felt much happier 🙂 I’ve just had port which is an amazing beverage, and reminds me of my Grandad Jasper who was an awesome, albeit flawed man.

It’s Hairy’s birthday drinks tomorrow; he’s turning old in three days 🙂 I can’t wait to see his face when he sees what his present is! Hopefully this night of drinks will go better than the last few, as they’ve ended up a little messily (both emotionally and literally) but I’m remaining hopeful!

It feels like such hard work sometimes, trying to be better. It takes energy to try to remember not to hate myself; to be positive and realise I’ve achieved something today. In total – I booked tickets to go see my sister, I made a flower, I did a bit of dissertation reading and I wrote a blog. Doesn’t seem like much, but it’s better than nothing. I wish I’d cooked something; I’ve currently got a hankering for salsa! And I’ve found the cookie cutters I want if I can’t find my others…. Right here!

Are you familiar with the idea of privilege in society? I read something earlier today about thin privilege that I’d never thought about. My problem is that I’ve got an issue with body image – I see myself as at least 3 stone heavier than I actually am, and so I don’t identify with thin people. But I do fall into the category of people who benefit from it – the list is here and explains a bit about what it is; it’s like male privilege which I’ve read more about!

Something nice and light to end up on as I’ve been a bit down today. I’m cooking dinner, and although it isn’t a stew or anything like that I’m having chorizo and chicken! I love chorizo 🙂

Do you have random low days for no real reason? If you do, what cheers you up afterwards?

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

