Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Wishlists and wonderlands.

on September 20, 2012

I love Christmas, the idea of it slightly more than anything else. Do you find that you end up being slightly disappointed because it was never as amazing as you expect? Christmas is normally full of long slow afternoons trapped in with family, BUT I still love it. I love getting giddy and slightly tipsy way too early in the morning, giving presents and everything.

I know this is too early to be thinking about Christmas, no matter what the shops say! But I do start writing my wishlist at this point, and asking my family for theirs so that I can start buying now instead of doing a massive rush just before the big day. I do end up spending more than I would do otherwise, but it also means I can buy stuff online and take advantage of deals and bits like that. Last year I got all my sister’s presents from ebay, all new but at less than half the price.

We still do stocking in my family – basically each of us buys the others 1 big present and a couple of stocking fillers, so we all get about 10 presents or so. It may be my greedy child-like instincts, but I love that. We sit around in our dressing gowns and open them in turn. This year Hairy’s coming to stay at my parents with me, so he’ll be included in the frivolity too 😀

I’m torn though, do I want pretty things and books for me, or do I want to ask for pretty but in the end slightly boring and practical things for the house? While I could spend forever in Lakeland ogling the pretty kitchen wares, do I really want to be unwrapping a food processor?

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

