Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

A slightly melancholy addendum to my wish list.

on September 26, 2012

I wish that when I was younger, had about enough money and all the time in the world that I’d been brave enough to join all the societies and try out all the new things that were offered to me. I’m now in my final year, and no matter what I join, I’ll only have a year to enjoy it. I have less money than last year, so I have to be selective in my choices.

I want to join the food society, the travel society, the rambling society; I want to try gliding and caving and windsurfing and scuba diving and riding and start up belly dancing and yoga again. I could have done it all in my first year, but I was too scared to meet more new people than I absolutely had to and so I stayed in and cooked myself overweight. Now I’m braver and I just don’t have enough time to spare because I have to write a 10,000 word dissertation by January plus the other essays and exams.

If I could go back to my younger self, I’d tell me not to cook all those cakes and eat them alone and unhappy; I’d say get out there and try new things because it’s not going to be cheap and easy forever and prices rocket when you aren’t a student any more, and I’d do the normal thing. I’d say that it does get better, so don’t worry now.

So, from future me to me now: do it. Join the societies and try it all because memories are worth more than money.

3 responses to “A slightly melancholy addendum to my wish list.

  1. I love this post! It’s something I could have written word for word to myself. I am older than you and I regret things I didn’t do – but it took me this long to figure that out. Good for you for realizing it already. You will never be as young as you are today! Go do something fun!

  2. Kate says:

    I agree with your future self 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

