Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Last night I was goth Cinderella.

on September 28, 2012

I had a party to go to, a housewarming of one of my friends from first year who I haven’t seen in about three years, and I was a little bit unwilling. I was good friends with these people, but I haven’t seen them since I changed from mumsy stay at home, to “goth”. Last night, I was the goth at the party which was a pretty fun role to play. It’s always entertaining because when I’m with my actual goth friends, I’m the normal looking one, but last night they were all very mainstream so I stood out like a sore thumb! One of the best things about my Hallowe’en costumes is that they tend to be reworn after the event because I love what I’m wearing!

I had the chance to catch up with one of my friends, and we nearly convinced someone that we were the landlords of the house just there to keep an eye on things. I’m terrible when it comes to lying 😀 I also got told that although I’m rubbish at lying, I’d make an amazing pub landlady because that was the vibe I was giving off. Actually I’d love to own a pub, particularly with Hairy, because we like talking to people. Would you like to own a pub?

Sadly I couldn’t stay too late because walking home alone through the area of Nottingham where I live is just not safe; so I was actually home by midnight. Hairy had a friend around, so he’d been boozing it up with rum in his coffee all evening. Such a wild child! It was really good to catch up with real people, rather than the occasional chat here and there over the book of face, and even better when it came after a slight melt down over dissertation.

I spent a large part of yesterday afternoon at the slightly weepy stage of “Oh dear crackers, I don’t know what I’m doing with this big and important thing that I’m doing” which wasn’t great and put me slightly off kilter. I’ve always found that I deal best with feeling awful when I’m in public – I just hide it and chat.

Tonight will be good! A group of medievalists are descending upon a pub and having drinks. This is the last weekend for some time that Hairy and I will have any time alone together and so we’re hoping to make the most of it. I’m shattered, and slightly dead so I shall leave you lovely people and hope for more inspiration later. Toodle pip!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

