Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I’m sick and back at uni. Yah boo sucks.

on October 1, 2012

I’m being all self pitying and totally skimped out on posting properly today like I should have done because I’m stuffed full of freshers’ flu, despite being a third year. In what universe is that fair? I had a beautiful yesterday, and now I’m sick. I’m spoilt rotten though – Hairy stayed home from pipe club (yeah, he’s that cool) to look after me and feed me tea and hot chocolate all evening while I alternately napped on him, complained about feeling ill and wriggled about on the floor trying to get comfortable so I could get some work done before my official dissertation meeting tomorrow. Complete fail and I ended up basically doing nothing but getting a cold bit on my stomach where my top wasn’t covering it.

First lecture of my final year today – it’s a module called Burning Desires and it’s pretty damn cool. Anyone else want to join me on it just because it has an amazing name? It was just an introductory lecture, so we all had to tell the class one thing that drew us to the module and I was the most geektastic – I like the impact that Old Norse has had on our language. Did you know that sky, knife and window all come from Scandinavia? My blog is a place of learning and joy πŸ™‚

I’m also currently in a Disney lyric duel with my friend on the book of faces that’s led to another coughing fit from giggling too hard. I love my friends sometimes πŸ™‚

Instead of studying like a good little finalist, I spent a large portion of this afternoon crafting an enormous roast for Hairy and I to share: roast chicken, onion and port gravy, stuffing, roasted potatoes, sweet potatoes and butternut squash, and cabbage, leeks and carrot in a honey and chilli glaze. Even if I do say so myself, it was delicious. Hairy tucked into a plate the size of his head, and nary a word was spoken until he’d demolished the whole thing. I was supposed to take a picture, but it disappeared too quickly. Should roasts be a thing for Sundays, or would you cook them throughout the week?

To bed! Hairy has an early morning, and I have to nurse myself to something vaguely resembling health before I keel over and collapse. Tutty bye dearest peoples, and thank for checking out my blog even when I wasn’t doing anything πŸ™‚

P.S. I’m doing a harvest themed night for my Guides next Monday – any ideas of easy crafts/food/games that I could take along?

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

