Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Mornings seem to be the hardest post…

on October 2, 2012

I’m trying to get back onto the amazing roll that I had last week with my posting, but I’m really not well this morning and my brain’s turned into mush. I enjoy the blogging, but I’m thinking that I should step it down a bit because I’m not coming out with pearls of wisdom as much as globs of phlegm right now (yes, a truly disgusting simile) and nobody really needs to know about that.

Megson have just come on my play list; they’re an amazing folk duo that I saw nearly two years ago down at the Fareham Folk festival. Good memories associated with that – Hairy spent way too much money on buying me my witch dress and a dress for his brother’s wedding, we made friends and drank much alcohol from plastic cups. I ended up doing a catwalk across the hall because the stall owners were fine for me to take dresses and try them own in the loos on the other side of the building, but when I’d put them on I had to go through all the people to get back and show Hairy and garner opinions. Repeat several times with several dresses, and I ended up getting stopped a couple of times by people wanting to tell their opinions and it was a good feeling. This photo is from that night:

Image

All knackered from excitement and a little bit drunk!

We also went to Southwell folk festival as stewards – well worth it because you don’t pay for any of the shows that you see, but this year was incredibly wet and cold. We bought scarves to wrap around our faces and hands because we didn’t have anything to help keep us warm. We looked like ninjas and I loved it 🙂 We were well loved that weekend – Hairy worked like a fiend and I managed to keep a smile on my face even though I had mud encrusted feet through my wellies which started leaking pretty quickly! Apparently foot deep mud isn’t conducive to dry feet… I remember being cold and feeling ill a lot of that weekend, but it was amazing. Photos are us in our tent, wrapping up to keep warm throughout another of our shifts in the rain and cold. I would do it again, but next time I’m taking more blankets, more pillows and my cloak. It would have been so useful to have my cloak!

ImageImage

I have a Kindle on its way! Hairy sat me down last night and we’ve ordered one from Amazon because it’ll help me get my course books much cheaper. What do you think of e-readers? Spawn of Satan, or a handy way of having more than one book with you?

Toodle pip for now my dearies, as always I love to hear from you and really appreciate all your comments. If there’s anything you’d like to hear from me about, just ask away!

2 responses to “Mornings seem to be the hardest post…

  1. Kate says:

    I like the idea of always having books with me, but I LOVE actually holding a book. I definitely don’t get the same relaxed feeling with an e-reader, so I’m holding off on it for now!

    • To be honest, I’m the same normally! I just read incredibly quickly and so if I go on holiday I always end up taking about ten books 🙂 Books will always be my first love and the e-reader is just for necessity.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

