Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

End of the weekend already? Where did it go?!

on October 7, 2012

It’s Sunday evening already, and parents are safely settled in front of Hellboy II – it’s not the most amazing film but it’s good fun and I enjoy corny fantasy films.

Sister mine came up on Friday and we met for lunch in Tamatanga which is an amazing urban indian restaurant, although we were slightly hurried through our meal after the waitress heard me saying that once Hairy and I had had really slow service in there! As per tradition, we went out shopping in Nottingham, this time looking for a pair of coloured skinny jeans that would fit my very tall sister! We ended up getting her these lovelies, although I was massively in love with the bottle green pair, I just didn’t like the fabric:

Bottle green (Green) 32in Dark Green Skinny Jeans | 254869736 | New Look

I need some new jeans, but I like real denim and not jegging or the overly soft fabric. I figure that this winter I’m going to be in dresses and skirts and massively thick tights 🙂

Friday night we headed out to Frankie and Bennys for dinner as a big family group – not a bit fan of the place, but it wasn’t expensive and it meant that we didn’t have to try to find another place to eat on a busy Friday night in the middle of the city. Nice enough I suppose, but I wasn’t able to finish my meal because I was deep in the throes of mankdom and just wanted to be at home in bed! Saturday we spent at Kedleston Hall, a National Trust property in Derbyshire. Twas a lovely day, but again I was sickly and spent a lot of the time being silly and trying to convince everyone that the marble tub was for playing with galleons in, and that you could totally reach the river if you just ran and slid fast enough across the slippery floor. Do you regress into childishness when you’re ill?

Today I spent silly amounts of money on books at another National Trust place – Sudbury Hall. Hairy’s got a book on home brewing and I have one on pies, cookies and on the art of making preserves and hames. I love my new books and we’re hoping that we get a chance to start brewing and pickling as soon as possible 🙂 We didn’t get there until late in the afternoon cos Hairy and I made an enormous and amazing Sunday roast for Mother dearest’s birthday.

Tomorrow is back to the university grind, trying to fit in as much work as possible before we travel down to Portsmouth on Wednesday. I like seeing Hairy’s parents; they first met me when I was coming down for a reunion club night and so was garbed in a corset. Ever since, I don’t think anything I wear could surprise them!

So it was a lovely weekend for family goodness, but I’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of things and focussing on uni work. I can’t quite believe it’s got to October already! It’s madness. Is your year going quickly too or is that just me?

Uninspired update, but I know that my mother will be checking this out soon! I’ll be back to my wonderful and witty self soon enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

