Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Last Hallowe’en I wore a crown.

on October 30, 2012

It looked amazing. I went as a Dryad: a tree nymph, and spent a full afternoon sat in a graveyard weaving together fallen twigs and leaves to make myself an autumnal crown. Sadly this meant I got called up on stage at the end of the night to have my costume judged (I didn’t get a prize, but I did nab an apple and remain cool while trying to avoid being seen). I remember avoiding seeing people because I was having a tough time this time last year and I needed to get out of the house and a graveyard seemed like the perfect depressing back drop to go have a gentle weep in šŸ˜€ And I think the crown looked pretty awesome too!

https://fbcdn-sphotos-g-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/298100_305117699499539_1368815862_n.jpg

As I first arrived, looking rather flushed! I think it was because of the mad dash to get there before midnight, plus the lighting was a bit funny… On the plus side, my crown’s still very much in tact even though it spent a lot of time spiking me which was mean! I did a lot of golden coloured make up, sprinkled gold shimmer over my cheekbones and lipstick and wore one of my mum’s old coats to keep in with the hippy-ish theme.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/386044_305122342832408_29585569_n.jpg

My apple! I didn’t bob for it, else my make up would have gone everywhere and it was hard enough to put on in the first place! So here we go, Hallowe’en without exposing all your bits and looking awesome as well.

One response to “Last Hallowe’en I wore a crown.

  1. torontonanny says:

    Love it! You make a gorgeous dryad.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

šŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!ā„¢

