Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Obligatory Happy Hallowe’en!

on October 31, 2012

Or Blessed Samhain, if that’s the way you celebrate. I’m writing this in a rather hungover state after being in the pub last night for someone’s leaving do. The Hand and Heart is a really lovely pub that had a pretty good selection of ales, but not so great on ciders so I was drinking wine. Wine and cider mean a nasty hangover the day after! The Hand and Heart have a monthly folk night which is awesome, and they actually have part of the rock face as the ceiling! Staff are really friendly, and the food looks good and fairly reasonably priced for fancy schmancy food stuffs 🙂

After a few drinks in the Hand and Heart, having great conversations all round we retired to the Ropewalk, more of a bar than a pub but still pretty nice. A few more there, and then Hairy and I had to beat a retreat because it was getting late and we’d only had a sandwich before coming out. Not a good plan, but we were running late and didn’t have time to have proper dinner.

I’m currently sat in slob clothes, nursing a headache and deciding whether a shower might be nice or evil. I’m also beating down the little voice that says this:

https://i2.wp.com/freesamples.me.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/tumblr_lr1xyltROJ1qiwoc6.jpg

will cure all the nasty feelings and make me all better again. I’m supposed to be having lunch out with friends today, so I definitely shouldn’t be munching anything now! Although I do have some very sexy looking bacon from the butcher in the freezer… Tis a terrible state of affairs.

So, my wish list this week is really quite boring.

http://www.paperchase.co.uk/invt/00500405/

https://i2.wp.com/www.paperchase.co.uk/content/ebiz/paperchase/invt/00500405/00500405_medium.jpg

I want this little sweetie! Isn’t it cute? I need a new diary because I’ve had mine for years and it’s getting battered and I’d like a slightly smaller one.

What are your plans for Hallowe’en? Hairy and I are sitting in and carving pumpkins and possibly making pumpkin pie. We’re unlikely to get any trick or treaters because we live in a block of flats so they couldn’t get in, so it’s going to be a cosy night in just for the two of us.

4 responses to “Obligatory Happy Hallowe’en!

  1. I do not envy the hangover but a quiet night carving pumpkins sounds like a fun evening. I plan on spending the evening baking cupcakes and pumpkin pie as well as drinking mead and watching as many awful horror movies as my friends and I can stand 🙂

    • No, the hangover really isn’t cool! Yours sounds like an awesome evening too – I might see if I can get Hairy to watch awful horror movies because it might be fun 😀 Mead is the drink of the gods! I’m always sad that it’s expensive and not that easy to get my hands on. I might be getting in some Gluhwein – German equivalent of mulled wine, to drink hot tonight 😀

      • I can’t say I have had much mead before but my housemate really wanted some when we found the mead stall in market square so we went halves. The German mulled wine sounds good. If you are watching ridiculous horror movies, I suggest Stephen King’s IT. It scared me to death as a kid but now… It’s just a little strange

  2. […] actually own because Mother Dearest and Pops got it for me for Christmas Remember it was one of my wish list Wednesday things a while back? Well now it’s mine and is filling up with important essay deadlines, but […]

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

