Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I own a cocktail shaker!

on November 8, 2012

Delivered this morning, all nice and shiny ready for the housewarming which will be partly cocktails and partly whatever people bring along because not everyone’s playing ball. I’m not annoyed at people for wanting to bring other drinks, I understand that people don’t always like the same drinks but the whole point of asking people to shotgun an alcohol was to make sure we don’t double up.

Are you ever the half of a couple who is known to be the organised one? Hairy, for all his amazing qualities, is a scatter brain and has been providing affirmative opinions about the housewarming but mostly standing back and letting me organise it. I don’t mind this, but it bamboozles me when people ask him for details because he hasn’t got a clue! His social life is written down in my diary otherwise he forgets. OK, maybe he isn’t quite as bad as I’ve made him out to be, but he’s still pretty pants.

Had a chance to chat to my sister yesterday and confirm our Christmas plans well in advance so we know what’s going on. Hairy’s nicked my card today so that he can pay for my ticket to his work Christmas dinner because although we’re both broke, he’s slightly more broke than me until tomorrow when he gets paid.

Also good news on the silly business with the electricity provider! I’ve been going through all the old post I can find and ruthlessly opening anything from EDF that’s addressed to our landlord in case it has the bill in it. I found a letter yesterday that says the bill for our flat from 24th August to 24th October is about £80, which is way less than I was expecting it to be. Yay woop!

I’m off now, got a saga to read and analyse, plus yet more cleaning.

3 responses to “I own a cocktail shaker!

  1. Glad to hear about the electricity provider. And yes, I am that organized half of our couple as well. I do all of the entertaining planning and organizing, etc. (Though, seeing where it is also part of my career… he gets a pass on that one). The trick is just to give Hairy enough details to be able to answer people’s questions if they ask…and to have him direct them to you for more info! 🙂
    Kenley

  2. I have some bad news for you. I have lived with my husband for 13 years and he still has no idea where the cutting boards are or where the clean towels go. One time I went away for 2 days and he was worried “What do the kids eat for lunch?” Me: “um, They are 6 and 9, they can talk AND (bonus), they know what they like to eat. Just ask them”. LOL!

  3. syrbal says:

    I am the organized one, 35+ years into a marriage. I wouldn’t mind it so much if the males of the household would just up their game and be the MUSCLE more often.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

