Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

How is it Monday already?

on November 12, 2012

Seriously world, not cool. It should still be Sunday and I should still be in bed.

I need a weekend off! I’m not having time to recharge my batteries and it’s really wearing me down. I feel all irritable and grumpy and poor Hairy is the one at the end of my temper. Any tips?

That said, our housewarming was both great and appalling at the same time. It got to seven o’clock, when it was due to start and nobody turned up. In the next hour pretty much everyone dropped out – it ended up that there were only 5 people who bothered to come, and one of those was Hairy’s brother so he’s kind of obliged to turn up. All the rest claimed illness, or that it was too far or too late. The worst bit is that I’d spent all afternoon worrying and planning and cleaning, and then they didn’t bother. I have a lot of terrible friends who don’t make the effort for me. Five people did, one came from out of town and stayed over and I’m grateful for that.

It was a housewarming, there were home made and very potent cocktails and Hairy and I hadn’t eaten – cue drunken antics and a very hungover Hairy in the morning! He regressed into a small child and pootled around for most of the day growling and bemoaning his headache.

I’m all out of inspiration dearies, so I’m off to do some more research. How were your weekends? Did you do anything for Rememberance Sunday? How do you deal with being in a funk?

5 responses to “How is it Monday already?

  1. Sorry to hear that the housewarming party wasn’t as attended as you would have liked! I have totally been there — especially with the stress of spending all day to get ready for something that doesn’t end up having a lot of people! Hope your Monday gets better!

    • I would have loved to have you there! It would have meant that we actually had more people… Monday wasn’t a good day, the world decided to hate me so I ended up hdden in the bedroom with a book, so in the end it was ok I guess! Thanks for the sentiment though 😀

  2. hooleywithaz says:

    the worst is when people don’t follow through. that’s high up on my list of things that get me angry. well, all a part of figuring out who is worth your time, that’s what i tell myself when it happens over here! just get through monday and it will be better. p.s. thought i had clicked the follow button a while ago, but realized i’m a little spacey… 🙂

    • No worries, it’s nice to have you here now! I’m spacey too, especially when this tired 😀 That was one of my biggest annoyances – if they had said at the beginning that they weren’t coming then I wouldn’t have stressed as much, or bought as much stuff 🙂 I’m just making them all buy me a drink to make up for it now.

  3. Awful when people don’t turn up for parties. Think I have only ever hosted one, a load of people turned up, including some gatecrashers, but the worry about it flopping is bad. We try and attend anything we are invited to, but luckily no-one asks us these days 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

