Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I took the weekend off.

on November 19, 2012

No work whatsoever, just having some time to relax and spend time with Hairy. It’s been a busy weekend though, so I’m still sat here yawning! Friday I spent with my sister, we got lunch in Zizzi because I thought the tastcard would have been usable but it’s not applicable on a Friday so it was a slightly expensive treat. I had pizza the size of a small child, left quite a lot and then had to eat more of it so that my sister didn’t feel bad. Instead I felt massively full until bedtime! I’m fairly sure that the five and a bit mile walk that Hairy and I decided to do helped burn off some of the enormous lunch.

I brought this up with pretty much everyone I spoke to over the weekend, and now I’m going to get your opinion too. My ex deleted me on the book of face, two years after we broke up and for no reason that I could think of. I assume he’s not going to speak to me again, feel a bit hurt because I’ve spent two years trying to make a friendship work and I thought that everything was fine between us. I hear nothing from the guy until Friday, when I get a text from him in the middle of lunch with my sister, asking if I want to do a Lord of the Rings drinking game with a group of our friends. What? He cuts me off, then expects me to be fine and want to go drink with him without even a word of explanation?

Friday evening was spent drinking, having giggling fits at the word cleft and trying not to thwack annoying first years whose start to every sentence seemed to be “No, no no no no”. Saturday we all piled in to the car and headed out to Chatsworth house to look at the Christmas food market. It was awesome – I had an amazing day, possibly because I was the free sample ninja. Hairy and I are almost completely penniless so we had enough to buy food and drink but not enough to buy lots of things. Therefore, if there are free samples I shall be taking advantage of them! I really enjoyed a cheese stall that had lots of different cheeses out to try – I ended up with a whole handful πŸ˜€ Am I completely without scruples, or would you have done the same?

Image

OneΒ  of our first views ofΒ  the house! It’s so pretty, I wish I could afford to buy it!

Image

Grill place for lunch – we all ended up with venison burgers although Hairy and I ate later in the afternoon because we had eggs and soldiers just before we went out πŸ™‚

Image

Hairy is certainly living up to his name – we still don’t have any clippers so his beard is getting mightier by the minute.

Image

Such a pretty view. I would have enjoyed it more if we’d been able to pick up some of the stuff that we wanted to – Hairy was desperate for some of the chilli jam that we’d bought here a few years ago but we just couldn’t afford it. At least he got to go try some, and we’ve still got a bit left from another shopping trip.

Image

It’s a star, made of bells. Who wouldn’t want it?

Image

Hot drinks for the win! It was rather chilly so we topped up on warming beverages throughout the day. I’m sad that my Kindle still hasn’t arrived – my old one has developed lines across the screen that makes it pretty unreadable, so Amazon sent out a new one that was due last week. If it doesn’t turn up in today’s post, I’m going to have to go beat somebody with a stick. I miss reading it!

Image

This was such a beautiful stall! Ok, call me a magpie but it was shiny shiny mirrors and prettiness. Who could resist?

Image

A small sample of the dogs that made Hairy go all weak at the knees all day long. He’s desperate for a dog and when he was at the market and surrounded by them he spent all day in a delirium πŸ™‚

Image

Slightly spoiled by the buses and stuff, but still. Phwoar… Wouldn’t you love for that to greet you every morning?

Image

Surely everyone needs a polar bear at Christmas?

Β 

Image

Or maybe a tub of small knitted robins?

Image

Really lovely musicians – there was also a travelling brass group that kept singing and tootling. I had great fun dancing like a prat πŸ™‚

Image

See the pretty? I love the glow of the sun on the building πŸ™‚

Image

This is something that I’d love to have – it’s so simple but effective. I’m still on the lookout for new pretties for our flat.

Image

One of the last photos I got to take before we had to toddle off home.

Yesterday I spent the day creating a DnD character! DnD is a roleplaying game that Hairy absolutely adores, and I enjoy playing with him even though I find it a bit stressful. This is only my second character, and I’m playing with guys who’ve been doing this for a good twenty years. I’m playing a steampunk witch, except it’s more gadgets than spells and she’s got a gun πŸ˜€

Steampunk gun! My character shoots rays at people, has flame throwers attached to wrist braces and an invisibility cloak. She’s also got healing jam, and a clockwork rabbit that acts as a translator and lock pick holder πŸ™‚

Something a little bit like that, but 3D and way cooler. So yeah, yesterday was spent geeking out and figuring out the mechanics and backstory of my character. She still doesn’t have a name, so any steampunky/fantasy names would be appreciated! She’s a ward in a separate court, grown up not speaking the language and is pretty nifty.

Toodle pip for now!

13 responses to “I took the weekend off.

  1. MotherDearest says:

    Ignore the Boy – you don’t need him in your life any more. And do you want a knitted robin or six, o light of my life and comfort in my old age?!

  2. TBM says:

    Aren’t weekends wonderful…time to relax and explore

  3. Sarah says:

    Lol, cleft! Otherwise lovely pictures!

  4. hooleywithaz says:

    free samples are the best. our grocery stores here in the states usually have them on Sundays and they are my favorite!

  5. ohjuliaann says:

    Two things. One, the phrasing “a tub of small knitted robins” actually made me vocally laugh, which is unfortunate because I am at work. Two, my goodness, that is one hell of a beard.

    Okay, more than two things. That view is crazy amazing. Looks like such a lovely weekend!

    • I’m glad I made you laugh at work! I read these at home, so no one is there to witness my mirth πŸ™‚

      It is a ginormous beard! It needs taming; I attacked him with a pair of scissors the other day because I was fed up of kissing moustache.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

