Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

So apparently it’s Thanksgiving!

on November 22, 2012

I’m not good at the whole holiday malarkey – I forget until the very last minute that anything’s actually happening and then have a spasm because I have stuff to do. But anyway, I’ve espied another bandwagon that I’m going to jump on.

See? There it is, right there.

I don’t have a picture of me jumping anywhere, clearly my life is incomplete. Instead have a photo of me windblown and looking happily towards a better future. Right? Right.

My parents are going to hate me for this, but here goes.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-f-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/405704_10151162649940232_657455452_n.jpg

I miss those jeans – the buttons gave out a while ago and I can’t afford any new jeans for a while. When I can, they (or a pair really like them) are definitely back in my wardrobe. I’m grateful for my family. I love that my dad sends me soppy texts, that Mother dearest phones me up as soon as I say I’m having a bad day and stays on the phone to make me feel better. I like that they came up to stay with me for my 21st birthday and took me out for dinner at an awesome steak place. Aren’t they cute? I’m grateful for having an awesome sister who comes up to Nottingham, gives me amazing advice, takes me shopping and leaves me buzzing from seeing her. Honestly, the last time I saw her I spent a good while after being overly happy at Hairy because it’s so nice to be close to her now.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/19973_103825696314270_5159078_n.jpg

I’m grateful for my friends, who give me memories like these:

And this:

I’m grateful for my body – even though it plays up from time to time, it could be so much worse. It takes me from place to place, and doesn’t complain when I push it (well, not too much anyway). I’m happy with the place I live in – yes there are annoyingly noisy children upstairs, there’s a funny smell in the kitchen I can’t get rid of, and yet another light has broken in our bedroom, but it’s still the first place that Hairy and I have lived in alone together, and that’s awesome.

I’m grateful for the things I love: reading, fantasy and sci fi, DnD, Vikings, beading… They’re not run of the mill interests and hobbies, so they’re interesting things to talk about. I’ve also rekindled my love of crime tv programmes – Netflix has given me all of Waking the Dead, right from the beginning! I snuggled up on the sofa wrapped in the sick hoody, Hairy’s celt trousers and a blanket and watched as many episodes as my brain could hold. It’s like a thinking person’s rubbish TV! I’m grateful for my dissertation tutor – an inspiring woman who is helping me so much with this. I don’t think I’d be anywhere near where I am with it if she wasn’t looking after me and pushing me to do it.

Last but not least, the Hairy one. Who else won’t get angry when I break all the things, like a true destructor? I’m fairly sure my phone died somehow during the night. Who else would buy me a cloak? Support me in everything I do, tell me I’m beautiful, do the laundry and cook me dinner when I’m sick.

He lets me nick his hoody – the one I’m wearing was bought originally for him, and I’ve definitely worn it way more than he has.

He comes on long walks with me. This was after an amble across Dover Cliffs šŸ™‚

He’s so pretty! Only smoochie one, I promise. But just look at those long wavy locks… Don’t you just want them?

He makes me work, even when I don’t want to. He was thoroughly grotty that night, but because I had essays he tidied up and sorted dinner. Lovely man šŸ˜€

He’s absolutely barmy about bears, so when we found this one a photo had to be taken.

He always goes up to buy stuff for me. I know it’s only a little thing, and I really should be over it by now but I don’t really like talking to people in shops. Hairy manfully bought me a cream tea šŸ˜€

Ah Hairy… Such a funny face.

Maybe I’m getting carried away, but I’m enjoying the pretty face.

I’m thankful for the unscheduled times we have, the spontaneous fun. I love the fact we’re sat in front of my university with a pint and a pipe for Liam.

Wine in the park anyone? I think we had a picnic too, but definitely a barbeque later in the evening. I am thankful for the fact that Hairy has introduced me to so many awesome new friends that I never would have met without him.

Silliness at Southwell! It was wet and cold, but amazing fun.

I’m done for now. What are you grateful for right now?

12 responses to “So apparently it’s Thanksgiving!

  1. Great post and I LOVE that Hairy has a picture with Paddington!! He was my favorite when I was a kid šŸ™‚
    Kenley

  2. I’m grateful to you for posting this because it has really lifted my spirits and made me reflect on what I’m grateful for – you’re starting a virtuous circle šŸ™‚

    I also want to say you are such a beautiful pair. The love shines out of you. Thank you so much for sharing your words and your pictures; we live in a cynical world and the more examples of love, joy, fun, happiness we have – happening right here, in the ordinary everyday world – the greater our chance of crushing that cynicism and remembering that people are all there is and we should recognise always how precious they are.

    Thank you, Kirsty xx

    • Thank you for such a wonderful comment. I saw other posts, and thought that as I’ve been a grumpy mare recently this would be a good way to get positive again.

      Thank you so much. Hairy is a beautiful man, and I’m lucky that we’re together. I always try to be happy and lift other people’s spirits, and I’m glad that I have done that here šŸ™‚

  3. Sarah says:

    Awh, that was a lovely post šŸ™‚ I hate talking to people in shops too! Once when I was in a cafe they didn’t bring my drink, so I was just going to suffer in silence despite the fact I had already paid, and my friend went and sorted it for me…I’m eternally grateful. Also (really hoping I don’t sound like a creepy stalker here) but your eyes look a really pretty colour in the photo sixth from the bottom…were you wearing contacts or are they naturally like that?

    • Only a little bit creepy stalkery, but only in a good way šŸ˜€ Nope, totally natural šŸ™‚ I have hazel eyes so they change depending on the light/what I’m wearing/mood. Quite reliably I’ll have bright green eyes when I’m sad!

      I would have totally been in the same boat! I know that I can talk to people – they’re only people, blah di blah… Still rather it when Hairy does it for me! šŸ™‚

  4. Sarah says:

    That’s so cool! Shame it’s not when you are happy though. Mine are hazel too, but sadly the green never really comes out unless I have just woken up…very odd šŸ˜›

  5. mandymint says:

    Hello!
    I really enjoy your posts and just love your blog in general! Therefore, I nominated you for the Liebster Blog award! Please check out my blog for the details and congratulations! (:

    http://mandymint.wordpress.com

    Congrats again,

    Mandy

  6. hooleywithaz says:

    lovely. and lovely of you to think of thanksgiving all the way across the pond!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

šŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!ā„¢

