Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

End of teaching!

on December 12, 2012

Now to focus on essays and get them written before Christmas hopefully πŸ˜€ I had another good meeting with my dissertation tutor and got told that I need to put in more gender theory. Yet more gender theory… It’s really interesting, and I find it relevant both in my daily life and my academic pursuits but crikey. I’ve already got about two pages of the stuff in there!

One of the things that I’m looking at and interested in is gender. A lot of the theory is trying to figure out how biological sex (genitals, hormones, DNA, none of which are infallible markers of the individual’s sex), sexuality and gender fit together. Gender, according to Butler, is something that happens performatively – we enact our gender every day in social interactions and work, and in everything we do and we can’t get away from it because our world is a pretty strictly gendered one. Children grow up and for the most part are given toys that are “appropriate” for whether they are a little boy or a little girl. I feel that I was given what I wanted – I wanted things like My Little Pony, Sylvanian Families and cuddly toys. I was never that big on dolls, but I did love a little cooker I had until I broke the salt and pepper pots.

I was a proper little tomboy though; I remember spending lots of time in the garden falling over stuff and trying to makes bows and arrows out of a bush that grew by the vegetable patch and left amazingly long dry sticks. It always failed massively, but I had a very happy childhood.

Hairy’s coming back soon with mince pies and mulled wine; we’re building a den and going to watch silly sci fi on the giant TV all evening. Mother Dearest, I know you read this. Love to you and Pops, I’m very much looking forward to coming home for Christmas.

6 responses to “End of teaching!

  1. Sarah says:

    The gender theory stuff sounds very interesting! We did a bit about that last year, would have liked to cover it more though πŸ™‚

  2. MotherDearest says:

    Oh darling girl, we’re looking forward to having you actually here on Christmas morning so much too! Do you remember that your auntie & I tried not to stereotype you all too much? You loved the farm set tho your sister didn’t like her train set; & when you played with your (male) couisin, his dinosaurs became babies or pets for your Barbies, while he held his baby doll by the foot and used it to club youi!

    • Yes, I remember πŸ™‚ It’s led to telling Hairy about it, and the yelling of “Barbies are dead, dinosaurs rule the world!” at random moments with fits of giggles. I also remember chewing the feet off most of my barbies…

  3. hooleywithaz says:

    mmmm, mulled wine. i made my first batch last weekend, and it was so delicious! congrats on getting closer to being done. your dissertation sounds really interesting!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

