Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I’m not wearing underwear today!

on December 14, 2012

Well actually that’s a lie, but it got you here didn’t it? Filthy minded people that you are… It’s actually a song from Avenue Q, rather silly but it can get stuck in your head.

Actually I’m not wearing make up today, which feels like quite a big achievement for me. If this seems inane, or no big deal or some sort of heinous crime then allow me to explain why I’m telling you about my naked face.

I feel pressured into wearing make up because I don’t look the societal standard of beauty (that took a while to figure out how to say without saying it wrong), and while I was growing up it helped cover up the acne. Hairy prefers me without make up, so the other day I didn’t wear it all day, even when we went into town to do some shopping.

Surprisingly it felt really good. Normally I’m checking and redoing my make up whenever I go to the loo, but I barely even looked at my face and didn’t worry about eyeliner not staying in place. Honestly I did think I looked a little bit dead at times, but I got over that pretty quickly.

The first time I went out of the house when I wasn’t wearing make up was about a year and a half ago and I was incredibly unhappy and felt self conscious. Obviously this is since I started wearing the goop, I didn’t wear make up at five or anything daft like that!

So yeah, I wish we didn’t have mirrors or make up. I can’t even begin to tot up how much I’ve spent on make up over the years, and how much time I’ve wasted worrying about the way I look. It’s a right pain int’ bum. I’m not brave enough to ditch it entirely yet, but I’m toning down on how often and how much I use it.

I would have shared a photo of my naked face, but apparently the camera didn’t like it and the flash kept whiting out my face.

8 responses to “I’m not wearing underwear today!

  1. TBM says:

    I hardly ever wear makeup. I just never took to it. Last time I wore it I was the maid of honor and the bride made me. Can’t argue with a bride on her day.

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m the same, I’ve toned down my make-up use over the past couple of years until now I only use eyeliner everyday (but only if I am going outside) because I am certain my eyes look like aliens without it! Otherwise the rest of the make-up bag is only used for going out-out. Its far cheaper!

    • I’m getting to that point! I use basic make up daily still, but I never use it if it’s just Hairy and me alone at home – if he prefers me without it then what’s the point?

      I always get confused by how different my eyes look without make up because that’s where I use most make up: big eyeliner flicks and lots of mascara is pretty normal on my face! Going out is different – I’ll be putting on make up before pub tonight 🙂

  3. You sure know how to write a headline! I never wear makeup either — not that I ever wanted to — my wife would divorce me if I did! 🙂

  4. I know what you mean, I’m so used to wearing makeup now that I feel kind of naked without it, but we shouldn’t feel pressured into wearing it all the time. Also, I love that song from Avenue Q 😀

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

