Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Women-baiting.

on December 20, 2012

Like bear-baiting, but cattier. There is a page on facebook that I’ve come across recently that I think sums up part of this problem. Et voila. I really don’t like this page – it pits women against each other and stating that “curvy girls are better than skinny girls” alienates a lot of people. I know that our society has a lot of problems with eating disorders, body image, self esteem, fat acceptance, health and so on and so forth. I could go on for yonks about this, but I’m not going to.

It would seem on the surface to be a good thing, accepting women who aren’t thin and saying that they are pretty. But there’s one of the many flaws – it’s still objectifying women, still painting them as nothing more than faces and bodies to be looked and judged (even if it’s in a more positive light). Also, what about teh menz? I checked on facebook and couldn’t find any such group for men, but plenty for women. I googled the exact phrase but just switched out girls for guys and ended up with a sea of pages asking guys whether they prefer curvy or skinny girls. Only when I put in fat guys and skinny guys did I get something relating to men themselves.

Also, why is one body shape so much better than another? Skinny women are skinny, whether they work hard for it or just have a high metabolism. Why the fat shaming? It doesn’t help anybody, and if they’re healthy and happy then who cares? What do you think?

On a happy note, I’ve got photos cycling as my background from the last two years with Hairy and it’s both distracting and amazing because it brings back so many memories. I’m off to see the Hobbit tonight, massively excited even though I’ve managed to catch a nightmare cold from somewhere! Yuck and ick and gack. As it’s become a thing in my life, today is Shorts Thursday. I ask Hairy for a preference on what I wear that day (massively makes my life easier in the morning!) and for about a month, on a Thursday he’d always say shorts. So now it’s a permanent fixture although I don’t know how it’s going to work once I get a job.. And to gross you all out, his love about me in the Advent house today was that I’m interesting 😀 I like that one.

2 responses to “Women-baiting.

  1. I completely agree with this. I hate the saying “real men like curves” because it not only shames thinner girls, but makes generalisations about men. Furthermore, it’s as though the only way those girls can feel beautiful or confident is to put other people down.

    • I know it sounds corny, but it would be so much better if we could love ourselves for the people we are, not the way we look. That’s why I’m fine with fat acceptance, but I dislike these sites that essentially amount to passive aggressive bullying!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

