Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Post birthday review.

on January 11, 2013

To be fair, I wasn’t expecting the best birthday ever yesterday because I had to spend a lot of it working on my dissertation. Then the zip on my boots broke. Then the meal I wanted for dinner was out, so I had to change my mind. AND THEN there was a bit of plastic on the (out of date) sweets that we bought for the cinema and I crunched my teeth on it and it blooming well hurt. And finally when we got home there was a feels message from an ex-friend explaining why they’d deleted me, and weren’t planning on re-adding me. On my birthday – seriously? That couldn’t have waited one more day? Jeez…

That said, Hairy was as amazing as you’d expect him to be – he brought me tea all day, made me breakfast, bought me beautiful things and Brave and then took me out for dinner and a film at the Broadway cinema. It’s a lovely little cinema – it’s cheap, does a lot of international films and is independent so I feel much better going there than to Cineworld! Plus it lets you take alcohol into the film with you, which is always a plus πŸ™‚

We saw Life of Pi – really good adaptation of the book. We saw it in 3D and while that normally gives us both headaches, this was so brilliantly done that it just added depth rather than trying to make stuff jump out of the screen at you. It’s funny that films are turning more and more into works of art – the Hobbit was equally vivid and beautifully shot, and while I enjoy that too I’d like to get my teeth into a nice action film at some point soon.

I’m officially 22 now, and I feel exactly the same as I did two days ago πŸ˜€ No splendiferous realisation of what I want to do with my life (Damnit I was counting on growing up this year).

Image

Pretty flowers on the table. Make me happy πŸ˜€

Image

I’m seriously not sure I’m ever going to get a decent photo of this man where he doesn’t look stoned/in the middle of talking.

Image

Image

Lookie lookie! Hairy paid attention to my wish lists on here and got me pretty things! You can’t really see it that well, but the lower pair are a set of axe earrings so now I’m his warrior woman and the top is a connected by chain set. Got it from Ice nine in town, I swear he’s got me every present for the past few special events from that place! Not that I’m complaining because I love the stuff in there.

2 responses to “Post birthday review.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

