Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I’m glad it’s nearly over.

on January 15, 2013

Dear crikey and cor lummy, I don’t think I’ve ever been happier to be on the brink of a deadline. Yes it’s terrifying knowing that tomorrow by 3.30pm my dissertation will be handed in and there’s nothing more I can do about it, but it’s also such a relief knowing that it’ll soon be over! I’m so stressed it’s unbelievable and there is little else I would like to do except curl up, sleep and revise for my exam.

I know that sounds counter intuitive, but bear with me here. I’ll be revising for an Old English translation exam, so it’s got a finite amount of work to it – not like some of the exams where you can revise forever and still not know everything you need to. I’m going to sit down, translate and re-translate the work that I’ve done so far and just keep doing that until next Tuesday.

My second birthday that I had with my Sister was much better than my actual birthday (go figure) although it followed pretty much the same plan! Sat in a tea shop most of the afternoon, a beautiful little place called Lee Rosy’s that sells so many different types of tea that I can never decide what I want, went to see Les Miserables back at the Broadway, then dinner. I had my first ever Thai experience at Tarn Thai – if you’re ever in Nottingham and looking for a good restaurant I’d highly recommend it. Although I did manage to make a prat of myself by opening my presents at the table, leaving the cards standing up and then promptly forgetting about them so I got incredibly shocked when our waiter asked whose birthday it was. I thought he was psychic or something. Honestly brain…

I did get some lovely presents – a house box full of Lush bits and bobs! Made me incredibly happy because I love pretty much everything from Lush. Doing my best thinking in the shower, as always, I figured out why I like it so much – I think it’s because they’re so out of the ordinary. You think about dyeing your hair: you open a bottle, mix it up and pop it on your head. With the Lush henna, it’s completely different and waaaaaaay more involved! You grate a block, you melt it and turn it into something resembling elephant diarrhoea and slather that on your locks. Then you wrap your head in clingfilm to help the colour. I mean, what? And solid shampoo and conditioner! And a pot of blue zesty jelly that is apparently good for my head! I don’t even know what to think about it, but it’s definitely not normal.

 I got my student loan on Monday! And promptly lost (read paid out) £450 of it, part on council tax and partly paying back Hairy’s Nottingham brother the money he lent us for the PC. That kind of sucked. And when I say kind of, I mean it was horrible!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

