Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

I’m free! Well, kinda.

on January 17, 2013

Dissertation is finally done! I handed it in yesterday along with the surprising revelation that 7,500 words of dissertation was far less stressful than Monday when I handed in 9,000 words of essays.

I have a conundrum! Tonight the Dropkick Murphys are playing in Nottingham and one of my friends is going and said I should join her. BUT I’m already supposed to be spending the night in with one of Hairy’s friends watching Brave and/or Tangled. I mean, how unfair a decision is that? Both are equally amazing and would make me stupendously happy. So what do I do?

I am coming to the conclusion that I am very much a person with a phases of the moon approach to emotions/being. I have periods of time where I’m fine to be in company, I love being around people, no problem at all! Other times I’d rather be sat in the metaphorical kitchen at the party of life, where you can hear everything but it’s calmer and occasionally crazy party people whirl through in a gust of alcohol and giggles. Sadly the dissertation has left me tired and drained, so it’s a bit of an effort to be sociable. I still don’t know why people always think I’m so positive and enthusiastic! I think it’s because they don’t see me in the mornings when I’m bleary 😀 Do you prefer the kitchen or the dance floor?

2 responses to “I’m free! Well, kinda.

  1. I think because I never had a chance at the dance floor, having gotten marrried young and had our kids young, our oldest was 14 months old at our wedding , that I am a kitchen person.
    I love to watch the partiers dance through, but I have always been okay with watching from the sidelines.
    Now that the kids are grown and have thier own babies, I am thinking it might be fun for my hubby and I to get out and meet new friends, something hard to do with four kids at home, and maybe at least get on the edge of the dance floor. We will never be partiers, but I would like to be out in the world more than I am currently !!
    Great question, had never really thought about it before in that way !!!

    • It’s the way I remember being at family parties – I’d find somewhere out of the way to sit and enjoy myself there!
      Definitely get into the world more, there’s so much out there to do and people to meet that it’s a shame not to. I find it hard sometimes, and do often retreat from too much social contact but hey ho!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

