Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Hairy women brought you here.

on January 20, 2013

Well, maybe not you per se but some people are finding me through some rather entertaining search terms. “Hairy women”, “honestly I’m not wearing any knickers” and probably my favourite “cloak in wind”. There are some rather unpleasant ones as well that I’m not even sure how they came to my blog.

The weekend has been incredibly sociable, and now I’m sleepy! I have an exam on Tuesday so I’m still a bit AWOL and updates will be patchy because pretty much all I’m doing at the moment is revising. And browsing a lot on ebay because even if I have a splurge, it doesn’t cost much! Plus I’m planning on putting up a load of clothes that I either haven’t worn all winter or that I put out to sell a while back and haven’t got around to yet.

I had people around last night for my birthday; I’m fairly sure you must be aware of the snow and general icky weather, so when I say that the only two people to make it came from Loughborough and Warwick that means dedication on their part! The most annoying part was the fact that everyone who cancelled had a good (ish) reason, from revision to illness to depression, but it sucked that the second house party that I tried to hold flopped as well.

This time I didn’t spend a lot of money on drinks or food, so it wasn’t as bad as last time but it makes me despair of ever having a party at my place. I had mulled cider because it turns out that I can get scrumpy for less than a five… Hairy had beer and we spent a LOT of time on youtube watching silly videos. I did get a pretty awesome birthday cake from some of my friends though! It was supposed to be a horned helmet, but they never got around to adding the horns because a group of drunken physicists descended upon the house and sent the bakers into a tad of social anxieties. We then relocated about a mile and a half through the snow to our place, and the horns never appeared.

Our oven has broken! We bought a beautiful half leg of lamb, I prepped it and seared it off in a pan – chuck it in the oven and go to check on it an hour later and it’s cold. Turns out the oven has just been blowing cold air at it for the past hour, so we’ve contacted the letting agency and I’m preparing for another epic battle to get anything done.

Anywho, Hairy’s killing things on the PC and I need to get on with some more translation of Old English. Most thrilling thing ever. I have an exam where I have to translate a seen piece of text, something I’ve never seen before and then comment on another chunk of Old English. I’m not looking forward to that, but it’s my only exam and then I’m free to relax for a few days. Very much looking forward to having a weekend with Hairy where I don’t need to do anything, see anyone and can just do whatever I like.

One response to “Hairy women brought you here.

  1. anabbloggin says:

    Late Happy bday and good luck for tuesday!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

