Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

If you haven’t got anything nice to say…

on January 24, 2013

But I don’t have anything nasty to say either. Very little to say at all in fact! Perhaps I’m just turning into a boring person in my old age.

Anywho, today is Burn’s Night so I meant to wear lots of tartan when I got up this morning, but that somewhat failed and now I have King Arthur upon my bosom. No joke πŸ˜€ But Burn’s Night means Scottish celebrations and that means haggis! And whiskey! I do love a nice bit of haggis. Your opinion? Food of the devil or deliciously misunderstood?Image

Rather dazed, a bit blurry and mightily entertaining. See? It’s King Arthur and he’s all shiny!

Image

There’s the real picture of what he looks like. You have no idea how many times I had to take and re-take this thing so I didn’t look like a monkey/drunk/you couldn’t even see the picture because of the shadows. It is a Hairy shirt, I stole it for the day because I’m a mean girlfriend like that. I realised today that since Hairy and I moved in together and we use the same detergent (and he uses deodorant), I can’t steal his shirts and have them smell of him. Yes, they still do smell of him after a day but since they get washed together they smell mostly the same as my stuff. This makes me a little bit sad.

I also just got my first message on Tumblr! Sadly it’s in response to this, which if you can’t see it is a youtube video that I don’t particularly like featuring Joseph Gordon-Levitt doing a parody of a stripper dance. The blog that I reposted it from is called “This is Thin Privilege”, and takes issue with the fact that the only larger guy dancing has another waistcoat underneath his first one. Personally I don’t like the fact that about half way through a woman gets her head grabbed and basically humped until she falls off her chair.

This is the message I got (I have no qualms about sharing this, as it was courageously Anon): “You are so right! I mean, it’s not like that was a parody skit after a movie about male strippers. We should take it like super serious, because, after all, that’s what comedy is all about. Also, everyone is so concerned about that one dude who had a vest underneath his vest, but what if he felt uncomfortable getting half naked on tv? Check you privileges! The fact that someone loves their body doesn’t necessarily mean that they want everybody to see them naked.”

I’m not entirely sure what to say to that – what would you say?

7 responses to “If you haven’t got anything nice to say…

  1. syrbal says:

    Darling girl, you are not beginning to be old yet! But trust me, sometimes having nothing much to say is a good thing…..and a bit of peace! Enjoy the haggis, I will stick to a wee bit of whiskey…rye at that, thanks.

    As for the rest? Some online things I can do without at my age…

  2. anabbloggin says:

    Haggis is yum. Had some when I visited Scotland a few years ago and I loved it, regardless of the contents πŸ˜›
    As to the rest, odd video, the woman being face-humped seemed to be in on it though. If he did that to me on t.v I would have hurt him pretty bad. The comment you got was ehm… how should I put it?… A tad too angry?

    Enjoy your Burn’s Night!

    • Thanks! I do love haggis a bit too much – I’m considering buying another one for tonight, but I’m not sure if that’s overkill or not!
      I definitely would have hurt him too – I know I can be sensitive to this sort of thing but I was a little bit shocked that somebody actually took the time to write an angry message on a teeny tiny tumblr page!

      • anabbloggin says:

        The Internet has this influence on people. Mixed with personal frustrations and anxieties, anonimity can lead to it. You probably got bashed over the head because someone was not well with something in their lives. Easy to say but don’t take it personally (I always take it personally LOL).

  3. hooleywithaz says:

    i’ve never eaten haggis….but would love to, provided the first time i try it i’m in scotland!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

