Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Ranty McRant face.

on February 15, 2013

I despise EDF energy. They’re completely pants and have screwed Hairy and I around since we moved in here and we’ve just managed to get our bill sorted out despite giving them multiple meter readings. Now they’ve billed us for the entire amount, saying that we have to pay it by 28th February. I’ve already paid them £200 out of the £450 – not too bad for seven months usage, not other form of energy for our flat either, but I’m annoyed that Hairy and I might have to fork out another £250 because EDF didn’t get their act together months ago.

Anywho, to nice things. As I’m sure you’re all aware, twas the supposedly most romantic day of the year yesterday. I was sick and stayed in bed all day, but felt better in time to go out to dinner with Hairy as we’d planned. We tried out a new Indian place in the town centre called Singh’s – if you like Indian food, go and have a taste! We only had the set menu so I can’t vouch for the rest of it but what I had was lovely. The wine is very reasonably priced, although that meant that we ended up with two bottles rather than just one and so my stomach is hating me a little bit today. Service was friendly, polite and speedy although I found that the timing of the meal was a bit funny. The starters came out really quickly, but then our mains took about 45 minutes (hence polishing off the first bottle and ordering a second. Normally we only have one bottle of wine out), and while that meant that Hairy and I had time to chat and enjoy each other’s company, I got rather hungry in that time! Perhaps it was just down to how busy it was.

The best bit about my day? Hairy and I got each other pocket watches, without planning it either 🙂 It’s the third time we’ve done this – our first anniversary we bought each other memory boxes, this Christmas we both got each other the DVD of Tangled, and now we have matching pocket watches. Hairy’s gone to work on dress down Friday in a waistcoat and shirt just so he can wear and show off his pocket watch 😀 He looks mightily dapper. Mine is a beautiful steampunk rose one with a cut out face that you have to wind up. I love it – it’s the ritual of winding your watch, whereas Hairy’s is just a battery operated one as I couldn’t afford the wound watches.

2 responses to “Ranty McRant face.

  1. TBM says:

    I should go to more Indian places–glad you felt better.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

