Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Generally weekend.

on March 18, 2013

I’d like to be more interesting, but I’m kind of not today. I’ve been working over the weekend, so I’m tired and stressed and crazily looking forward to Friday.

Facebook calls to me every once in a while. Mostly when I find out that I’ve actually missed out on things because I wasn’t online – things about the D&D game that I’m going to be playing soon, and other such thrilling wonders.

I’ve been looking into jobs a bit more – still figuring out what I want to do. If nothing else comes up and enthralls me I’m settling more on teaching. I’m good with kids, I like the idea of working with children and it seems like my kind of thing. But not just yet, I don’t want to get stuck in anything too soon. I’m looking at charity work, museum work and other such joys at the moment. It’s a good distraction, but I can’t apply for anything properly yet as I need to get past the exam period so I can’t really work until June.

Yesterday, as I’m sure you’re well aware, was St Patrick’s day. I haven’t a trace of the Irish in me (despite my ferociously ginger hair at the moment), but I couldn’t turn down a free entry acoustic night at a local pub/bar place. Sadly it was a tad disappointing – one of the lads had a voice so nasal it made one of my friends dub him the “cat in a human-suit”. We followed up with a trip to a new restaurant in Nottingham called Turtle Bay – does stupidly strong cocktails but rather tasty food. Hairy and I had already had dinner – vegetable pie with a stuffing top (about as delicious as it sounds!) but then Hairy had to start thinking about food and wanted to get some. Two dinners last night, and two breakfasts this morning. I’m fairly sure I should be training for a marathon or something on that!

Hairy’s Nottingham brother treated me to breakfast this morning as we haven’t seen each other in a while, and he had a haircut in town. Rather lovely Eggs Benedict (slightly cold though) at Frankie and Benny’s, only a fiver as it was before midday. I also got told I would make a good female power lifter because I’m basically built like an outhouse – yay for slightly weird compliments! I think mostly it’s because everyone else I know is absolutely tiny, even if they’re tall.

I shall think of something worthwhile to write at some point. I miss singing in a choir, and I want more time to play my harp. It’s been sat around for the past few weeks and I won’t get any better until I have time to practice. I’m slightly worried about Hairy – he could do with a new job, because for the past few weeks he’s been so tired and stressed that we haven’t had any time to do anything apart from eat dinner and collapse. Hopefully, as he’s having an early bro-night tonight, they’ll get something in motion because I don’t want him to be not happy like this.

YAY! Depressing post. I need coffee.

5 responses to “Generally weekend.

  1. rebeccaalice14 says:

    I think it’s just a depressing time of year!! Me and my mr are exactly the same in the exam/stress/need a new job department :/

    • It definitely is depressing! Winter’s clinging on to making us that little bit more miserable πŸ™‚ I can’t believe it snowed today! Hope you and the mr get some time to take a breather and relax as well πŸ™‚

  2. L says:

    It’s good to take some time before you commit to anything.
    Try taking voluntary work just one day a week whilst you study, that will it will get you out of the house and it won’t interrupt study time.

    Don’t take a job just for the money, it will kill you in the long run, trust me.

    Try and have a relaxing bath, or walk sounds as though you need it.
    xxx

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I already do some volunteering with Guides, but I keep meaning to find something else to try. Good advice! It’s just pressuring, thinking that I need a job soon and I’m still in a position of not knowing.
      Shall do! A nice hot bath sounds pretty amazing right now πŸ˜€ xx

  3. I did some voluntary work while I was studying (actually it was compulsory for at least one vacation), I did archive work which switched me right off that, too dusty and miserable stuck in cellars in the middle of summer sneezing endlessly, and art gallery work, also equally boring but not quite as sneeze inducing. Worth doing to find out what you don’t like, and good on the CV anyway.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

πŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!β„’

