Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Ranting again.

on April 4, 2013

Today I walked into town, despite still feeling rotten and blah di blah (insert general grump here). I wish that I hadn’t because not only was it excruciating and I’ve ended up having to take my boots off, but also because I got harassed three times on the walk.

Sadly I’m having to retire my beautiful Doc Martens for the moment because the zip has broken and they’ll have to sit around until I can get to a cobblers. Instead of being sensible and grabbing some trainers, I got my lovely but painful army boots that Hairy got me for Christmas a few years ago and still haven’t managed to break in properly. I know, there are ways of loosening up the leather but I just haven’t got around to it because my DMs were pretty much perfect.

Back to my rage – number  one was just outside my door. Some twit on a bike was fascinated with my cloak and his teeny tiny pea brain couldn’t fathom why I’d be wearing a cloak. I’m sensitive to this whole thing because I don’t like people talking to me on the street, and I get really annoyed by people’s reactions to the cloak. I know it’s not a “normal” thing to be wearing, but seriously people. Not only did he strike up this “conversation” in the street (following me on a bike – slightly creeped out), he then TOLD ME OFF for being defensive and not wanting to talk to him. You what? So it’s now my place to meekly answer all your questions about my personal choices and preferences, and not to be annoyed that you’re interfering in my life?

Back to the whole cloak thing. I’m sick of being called Maid Marian, Robin Hood, Legolas or anything else you might think of when you see somebody in a cloak. I know the easiest way to stop that is to stop wearing my cloak, but I’m horribly stubborn and that would be letting “them” win.

Rage face. The last guy was just a sleaze bag. By that point I was fed up of everyone and planning on punching the next person in the face.

One response to “Ranting again.

  1. Jennifer says:

    I love the idea of a cape. I just don’t have the ‘persona’ or ‘attitude’ to pull it off. Do you get that. Seem people can wear crazy things and it rocks, while others just look silly. Not saying the cape or you are crazy, both very cool.
    This dude on the bike obviously doesn’t have enough brain to realise personal space and interference of said space. I find that irritating too, we all have our limits on how close, or how much we talk to others. I would have been politely rude to him.
    As for sleaze bags, ugh. I hope you find new boots, or at least wear in the army ones. 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

