Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

The post I may or may not choose to post.

on April 10, 2013

I’m considering giving up this blog. It would make me sad to, but I’m not sure if it’s worth it any more. I mean, I don’t really get that many people coming to check it out so it’s not like I’ve got a massive fan base that I’ll be disappointing. I don’t write about ground breaking or interesting things, just little bits from my rather mundane existence. It’s not a repository for my hopes and dreams in the way it kind of was in the beginning, and it feels stilted to me now. It doesn’t feel like me as much.

So, it’s not you. It’s me. I feel too boring to carry on with this. The highlight of my day yesterday was eating fishy sushi for the first time and buying a pair of shoes that say “BANG!” on the side. Yay woot. I also sat in a cemetery and saw an old man either having some alone time or peeing. Not quite sure which, I didn’t dare look that closely. For the past two weeks I’ve spent most of the day in the flat, sat reading things online and that’s not interesting. I think the key would be to keep making everyday life interesting, but I’m not that good at it. 

I’m also not good at angry. I have a secondary voice in my head that censors most things that I say and everything that I write. I can’t complain on here unless it’s a safe topic to complain about, like the weather. Or annoying people who live in the flat above me because none of you know who that is. I find it hard to rant about people I know just in case they find this blog and read about it then hate me; it’s not that I want to it’s just that I can’t and as soon as I think I can’t, then it’s all I want to do.

Yesterday one of our friends came around for the evening (didn’t drink or have dinner – on a diet/detox), and she kind of made me feel like some of my hobbies/interests are interesting and cool. In my head it’s really not, I mean it’s just beadwork and making stuff. She told me I should sell my stuff. I remember that I had planned to do that when I came to uni, but never got around to it. I finished a bracelet, but it’s too big for anyone’s wrists because either my hands were significantly fatter when I started it or I just got too carried away. I don’t know why this is relevant. Probably it’s the validation she gave me that I’m not a total loser who should go hide in a hole.

I don’t know. I’m scared shitless about my future, but I don’t like saying that because I don’t think anyone really wants to read about it. It’s not like it’s news that a student about to graduate is bricking it.

I’m fine, I don’t need to be checked up on. I just needed to say something. It’s mid holiday blues I guess, plus the whole graduating soon thing. I’m frustrated that I don’t have many good friends. I can meet people and get on with them fine, but it’s been a while since I was properly happy with them – a lot of the time I make excuses not to see them because to be honest, it’s a chore. I don’t like feeling tired after going for coffee with someone. I want to come away feeling good about myself and the world. I do know people who are like that, but they tend to be busy with all the other people who use them to feel good. I’m scared about applying for jobs and getting turned down because I’m not good enough.

Yes, I’m moaning. Seriously, why are you still reading this? I’m off to attempt reading sagas (again) and download LOTRO onto the PC so I can play it tonight on my geek-date while Hairy reads. I just spent five minutes trying to write this: please talk to me because I’m lonely and I’m sure you’re cool. This is why I fail. This was really hard to write.

7 responses to “The post I may or may not choose to post.

  1. Auntie Sadie says:

    Darling Niece. I recommend reading “Feel the Fear and do it anyway” by Susan Jeffers. You’ve a lot on your plate so be kind to yourself. You are a good and loving person. xx

  2. mikafry says:

    Contrary to your (current) opinion, you do have a knack for making everyday life interesting–or at least interesting to read about! I can relate to all the things you’re saying. I haven’t blogged in a long time now–maybe it’s perfectly fine to just take a rest? 🙂

  3. hooleywithaz says:

    i like hearing about your life over there in england, it’s like a vacation for me! transition times are hard, don’t write if you don’t want to, but don’t be afraid to take a break and come back later either.

  4. syrbal says:

    Even small blogs have a place in the blogosphere. And, frankly, I find your everyday things restful and often a joy to read when other blog life is stressing me out. Take a break, write when you feel like it….here or in a paper book, it is a worthwhile thing to do.

  5. For what it is worth, I enjoy reading your posts. I have a blog with not many readers either, in fact three of them and one has NO followers but I write for ME.
    You should write about your feelings and fears, that is how you get feedback from others who might feel the same way !! It is normal to be scared of e future and you do not have to be a student to feel that way !!
    Please give it some thought and use this blog to really talk about your thoughts, your dreams and your fears, those of us here will enjoy being there for you and if you tag it well, you might be suprised how many people will find you. I have found the most intersting blogs and most popular, are about peoples every day lives !! Don’t undersell yourself !!

  6. anabbloggin says:

    Hey, I like your blog! Actually it is one of the few I visit regularly that doesn’t regularly mention my main interests. So there, I like it, I like your topics, your thoughts and the way you express them. 🙂

  7. Now here is the thing, think of it like this. There are no ordinary moments; no ordinary people; no ordinary lives…

    Nothing is mundane, treat it all like an adventure, whatever it is that yo are doing. But above all else, write for yourself, your own reasons…people love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

