Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Like a BOSS.

on May 9, 2013

I’m going to take a second and be completely egotistical in a way that I find very difficult normally. I’m clever. Pretty astoundingly so on a normal day and if I put my mind to it, I can be brilliant.

Today I had an exam that went pretty swimmingly (even without all the help the lecturer gave us). Yesterday I nearly had a breakdown in Aldi because I thought I was about to fail my exam and Hairy had to bring me home and feed me chocolate and oranges (and buy me green beans to make me smile).

My exam was an Old Norse-Icelandic translation and grammar test; I’m good at languages and grammar, and pretty damn good in exam conditions. I’m not sure that today could have done any better – I found all the grammatical terms that I needed to, then set to on the translation which counted for 70% of the entire thing. There were two passages of about 200 words each of which we had to choose one and translate it. I was a jammy jammy lady and translated both and then picked out the one that I liked better, then transcribed it into slightly better modern English.

And I did all that in 25 minutes. I’m that good. One bit that made me laugh was the last line of one of the texts (from Grettirs Saga). This bloke had climbed up onto the roof of a hall where some guy on the inside is shooting arrows and keeping all the other guys away from the hall. Blokey number one is wearing a red tunic (must have been English), and gets seen from the inside and stabbed. He falls to the floor, one of his friends wanders up and asks “So, is Grettir at home then?” Blokey number one replies “You know that well, but I know something else. His spear was also at home.” ‘After that, he fell down dead’.

Seriously I should get my sense of humour checked soon.

I’m happy tonight, ignoring my essay in favour of telling Hairy on a regular basis that I am “THE BOSS”. He’s pretty happy with it and is plying me with drinks and jellytots šŸ˜€ I only have three things left before I’m done with my degree, so YIPPEE!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

šŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!ā„¢

