Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Okay, SO.

on May 21, 2013

Today is my last coursework deadline for my undergraduate degree. I’ll be handing in a monster of an essay, currently standing at about 3,300 words. My essays are normally in the realm of about 2,700-3,000 so this one is a bit of a beast. It’s all about heroes in Icelandic literature, what heroes are and how they are portrayed. I’m just editing, putting references in the right places and then to write the bibliography. I’ve got until 3.30pm, so I think I’m doing pretty well for time although the washing machine man is due around again but I don’t know when! I sent him a polite message asking for a rough estimate, and he didn’t reply. It’s just that if he’s planning the afternoon, I need to know that so I can hand in my essay earlier rather than later.

Weekend was rather lovely, I spent a few hours on campus helping to run a viking workshop for the university Mayfest, and I’ve found a beautiful replica cup that I would love to have. It’s the Jelling Cup, and it’s the perfect size to be a shot glass. I’m getting paid for 2 and a half hours of work, which works for me because at least half of that was sat around chatting and organising what we were going to be doing.

Sunday I worked, got most of my essay written and then loaded up the Sims medieval for a few hours of playing computer games. I’d forgotten how much I like that game!

Last night – Guides. Got our unit hoodies finally! They’re all purple, but I didn’t realise that all the writing is in silver, so I’ve got a giant 3 on the front and my name emblazoned in shiny shiny letters across my back. Also I got overly excited by the fact that there are two little pockets INSIDE the big one on the front which are supposed to be for your ipod, but it fits my phone pretty perfectly 😀 We went to the park, got the guides to complete a challenge which involved lots of running about like headless chickens, and then we went and played on the playground. I got roped into spinning the roundabout type affair – like a roundabout, but you stood on a circle about a foot off the ground, and held onto a set of handles about waist height. So yeah, I was the propeller for that little monstrosity and ended up nearly wrenching my shoulders out of their sockets.

That was quick update, but no more time to write since I have to get back to writing my essay. Last one! Then one more exam, then I’m free.

One response to “Okay, SO.

  1. Congrats! Is almost over. Great efforts that produces great results. You will come out excellently I know.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

