Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Did you know?

on July 22, 2013

You can’t legally get married in a field. It has to be under a roof, or in some circumstances a marquee, but for the most part you can’t do it outside. I never realised that, and it’s kind of scuppered our earliest plans. When we were down at Hairy’s Gloucester brother’s at Easter, we had a bit of a chat about holding our wedding there and using his boss’s field for all the guests and all that malarkey. Turns out that a temporary wedding licence costs (the information I found anyway) about £2000, has to be in a place that will be available to the public and lasts for 3 years. And can’t just be for a field.

So now we’re trying to figure out how/what we’re going to be doing. One possible solution that I saw on a wedding blog (I can now look at those and it’s not creepy!) is to do the signing/legal bit maybe a day or so beforehand with only a few witnesses, then have a humanist ceremony (not considered legal or binding) in the field and the reception on a separate day. The problem with that is the logistics – I consider the important bit to be the friends/family and celebration of love bit, rather than the signing of the papers. Hairy was tired when I sprung it on him, so he doesn’t really have any opinion yet. I don’t want to do it in a registry office if we can help it, but I don’t want a church wedding either because neither of us is religious.

So far we have a provisional guest list, know when we want to hold it and what colours we’d like for the “scheme”. I think there are people out there who are slightly more excited about this wedding than I am – we have a card from one of Hairy’s sisters-in-law already and she seems incredibly psyched about the whole thing.

I worked a twelve hour shift on Saturday. It was actually pretty good – I met a couple of creepy people, spent a very long time worrying about losing my ring and managed to get three meal cards instead of two 😀 It was the Splendour festival in Nottingham – I didn’t get to see any of the acts, but there was some good music going on. We got there about ten, started serving at just gone eleven and I spent a lot of the day covered in ale. There were a few casks that just leaked no matter what you did, so I got an ale shower at one point and I’m still aching!

It’s the first day that Hairy’s been back at work after taking the week off to spend with me. I’m a bit lonely, despite being crazily happy about the whole engagement thing. I could really do with a job, or more interesting stuff to be doing. At the moment it’s job applications and packing; I do really like packing but it’s just a matter of getting used to being alone for the majority of the day again.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

