Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

What is happiness?

on September 12, 2013

It’s been a while since I posted, and an averagely amount of stuff has happened. I had a house warming, completed an NVQ in practical cleaning skills, applied for more jobs and cooked some amazing food. And skyped with Mops, AJ and my most beautiful little cousin. She’s truly gorgeous – blonde and curly, blue eyes and a giant grin.

So, yes. What is happiness to you? I’ve had a couple of conversations about this over the past few weeks – some with friends and one with a complete stranger that I met waiting for the bus. One of those days. I did find my wallet actually – it was handed in without anything missing, not a single penny. Things like that restore your belief in the goodness in people 🙂 The guy on the bus was just being friendly in a slightly disconcerting way and asked me what I wanted to do with my life, and what makes me happy.

I admit there’s a lot in my life that makes me happy. I’m lucky (according to one of my friends) in that I don’t need anything else to be happy. I have awesome friends and family, a fiance (dear lord, I’m never going to get used to that), an adorable house, my health and a good degree. All I need is a slightly better job and I’ll be set. I like that I don’t need much to be happy. I love that I’m mostly happy in myself and I’m working every day to be better.

But what makes you happy? Today I got overjoyed because my laptop is working again. I made an amazing dinner using the leftover wine from my housewarming and it was one of those dinners that just works. Sausages in white wine sauce with tagliatelle. Num num num.

This isn’t the most insightful or well written post because I’ve already been sampling the rum, but I’m happy. I’m happy when I make other people happy. I like that I have been asked to help a young girl I know. She’s meeting a boy on New Year’s Eve and is a bit nervous and wants back up basically – doesn’t really want to talk to her mum about it, but I’ve promised to be available close by if she needs me. What I love is that I have friends and family that I know will be there for me if I need it. When I split up with my last boyfriend, my family press ganged me into coming down to visit so that they could check on me and make sure that I was okay.

So one last time. What makes you happy?

One response to “What is happiness?

  1. Family , my hubby and our four kids and thier wonderful families are top !! Friends are right up there too !! Reading makes me happy, working on a beading project, cooking a nice meal and sometimes just playing on the computer. I do not not need a lot to make me happy either !!! I have a really nice life, no complaints here !!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

