Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Things that are awesome and things that are not.

on September 20, 2013

I have a new and shiny laptop (because the other one broke) and a new and shiny job (because the other one sucked).  The new and shiny laptop was a necessity because my other one started smoking out of the charger port and would have cost quite a lot to replace; since it was about 4 or 5 years old anyway I gave up on it. It has a funny system on it, but I think I’m going to get to grips with it some day.

The new job is a bit of a gamble. My friend told me about it, I applied and he basically pushed my name in the employing person’s face until they had to phone up and talk to me about it. I start on Saturday as an IT helpline person – blooming terrifying as I’ve never done anything like this before, but definitely better than being a cleaning lady. I’m on clear avoidance tactics as I’m chatting with old friends, updating this beastie and catching up on John Green’s videos.

It was Hairy’s birthday on Monday (which incidentally was the day that I handed in my notice and we spent most of the day waiting for my laptop to be ready). He’s now a grand old 28 years old and still looks as wrinkly as ever. He’s got the week off so we’re spending a lot of time playing computer games together which is making him happy – the best bit is that WoW has panda characters so we’re running around as a couple of little bears. Wednesday was my day for him and I’ve planned him a treasure hunt around the city. I’ve written clues to shops that will spell out “I love you” with their initials; he’ll get a penny sweet with every clue he solves without help and I’m getting him a book and some tobacco so he’ll have a little present for each word. In actual fact I ended up splurging and buying him lots of little presents and the whole thing went like a dream. Including the terrible game of charades that we had to play! Seriously, how do you mime out “Olive Garden” and “Urban Outfitters”?? My life, ladies and gents, bemuses me somewhat.

I meant to take lots of photos, but it’s grey and cloudy and I couldn’t be bothered since I can’t get my fingers to work properly. We’ve dived headfirst into the depths of autumn here in Nottingham and it’s been raining on and off for the past three days. Our heating has packed in so we’re living in a triangle of bedroom (overly cold), living room (gas fire), and venturing into the kitchen to heat it up with cooking and get food.

This is probably one of the most domesticated posts that I’ve ever put up on here. My life is boring and cold at the moment – the only exciting thing happening today is that Hairy is off viewing our venue literally now. I have no idea what’s going on – just hope I hear from him soon!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

