Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Life is easy (apart from cold fingers)

on September 29, 2013

I caught the office cold. Small wonder since I’m working in a windowless room with about ten other people and the air con on so it really was just inevitable.

I have complaints to make – stupid University didn’t pay me because they hadn’t got my bank details because they didn’t give me the form to fill in like they were supposed to. I’m on my 9th day of work in a row, which is evil but the pay is good, the people are lovely and it’s not too strenuous. That’s about it really, since the cold is just a bit inconvenient.

I’ve been making beaded roses over the past week. I haven’t got a picture of them, but I can assure you they’re tremendously cute! I made a white one and showed it to the rest of the group, and promptly got asked to make another one 😀 It gives me something to do between calls! I picked up some new needles and when I get my wages through (after paying back sister mine for the tickets to go see Frank Turner), I’m going to pick a proper project to work on and buy the bits I need. Up until now I’ve done the terrible magpie thing and just bought pretty things without a real purpose in mind, so I never have quite what I need to do any real project. This time I’ll sit down and figure one out. I’ve found a couple of books that I would love to get:

One for making bugs; a totally adorable one for a miniature menagerie, and finally another animal one. I just think they’re so cute! But for the minute I’m making a purple rose for one of my work mates, so they’ll be on my wish list to buy when I get paid 🙂

Wedding planning is coming along slowly but surely. Since the wedding venue down in Kent is no longer on the cards, we are looking for somewhere else. On a slightly unrelated note, I’ve found what I want to do with the bouquet – brooch bouquet! I can make it myself, they’re absolutely stunning and I can keep it forever or take it apart and wear the brooches afterwards.

See?

How beautiful are they?

Could genuinely look at these all day.

So, vague general feel of the day is going to be a bit vintage-esque and a bit like a village fete, but without the may pole. Spent a very long time chatting about it with Hairy (he lost his phone outside my work and we had to go all the way back to get it); and we’re thinking a big bowl of punch, toffee apples and roasted chestnuts. Oooh, and cupcakes. And face painting because who could go without face painting?

I also read this article and watched the video of a fashion show by a guy called Rick Owens. I thought it was amazing – the women were fantastic dancers and it was brilliant to see real women on the catwalk. Plus, their hair was genuinely terrifying at times and I loved it. Then I went and killed things on World of Warcraft and life was restored to its normal balance.

And in terms of my geekery habits – online killing of various beasties continues apace; I like going all murder face! Don’t judge me 😀 I’m also really excited about the new Marvel series – Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. And there’s a new classical themed TV programme called Atlantis. And the Doctor Who 50th anniversary. And a new series of Sherlock. Life is so exciting! Hairy and I can’t watch any of it live, but the internet catch up service is totally our friend!

Life is good and I am happy. Would like to be paid, but at least I don’t have to wait until next month for it!

2 responses to “Life is easy (apart from cold fingers)

  1. Those bouquets are amazing! It’s always nice to find something that speaks to you! Yay wedding plans 🙂

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

