Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

What’s in a name?

on November 7, 2013

Thursday, November 7, 2013
If you had to switch your first name, what name would you choose and why?

I haven’t really got a clue! I may end up sounding like a fairy when I marry Hairy, but I made peace with my name a long time ago when I actually had a lisp and saying my name was a traumatic experience for all in the vicinity. I quite like my name now, but when I went through my “goth” phase when I was about 14 or so I really wanted everyone to call me Zanna. I read a book with an amazing character in it who was called Zanna and she was basically everything I wanted to be at that time.

I guess I’d probably go back to that. It’s a derivative of my actual full name, doesn’t have any pesky letters in it and doesn’t make me sound like a fairy when I take Hairy’s name! I think I’ve grown to suit my name (or my name has grown to suit me), so I don’t think I would like to change my name any more! For me nicknames are really important and indicate how close I am to someone. Jobs I tend to apply for under my full name, then introduce myself as Susie. After that it’s up to them what they call me! Sue is what Pops calls me, Mother dearest changes it all the time and my closest friends from school ended up calling me Soob at one point. The normal close-friend shortening is Suze. It felt slightly weird when someone at work called me that after only a few weeks – surely we weren’t at close-friend state yet?!

Monday, November 4, 2013
Who is your favourite character of all time?

This really changes depending on the medium, the genre, the day and the position of the stars. I always have love for Sherlock Holmes in his many renditions; if it’s a television character then it’s probably Donna Noble from Doctor Who. Films it’s Belle from Disney’s Beauty and the Beast, but then I also love Merida from Brave! So I guess I can’t really pick a favourite character of all time, it changes as I get older and discover new books and films to love.

2 responses to “What’s in a name?

  1. MotherDearest says:

    Ooh, I don’t know how you can say that Susie, my Suzu, Suzy-anna, Susle Susles Sue Sue-sue Susquehanna Susanna Caroline!!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

