Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Ten things, more photos and rum.

on November 14, 2013

Thursday, November 14, 2013
Are you a morning person or a night owl?

I guess I’ll have to say I’m a three naps a day kind of person. I take after Pops – can’t stay in bed late unless I’m shattered, so Hairy is always dragged out of bed by about nine every Saturday morning. I think he hates me a little bit for that. I have a bit of a midday slump unless I’m busy, perk up about dinner time and then normally hit the hay about 11pm. On the other hand, I love being up and about when nobody else is around and taking late night walks.

Maybe I’m just anti social?

I enjoyed writing my ten things list the other day, so I figured I’d try another one. Here goes on ten things I can’t live without ten things I love to own but really don’t use that often*:

1. Hairy. Clearly part of the original list that I abandoned when Hairy came home bearing rum. One – I don’t own Hairy; and two – he gets regular use. Never gathers dust (although that may be the showers I force him into).

2. Mortar and pestle. I absolutely love that I own one of these; I’ve had it since I was about seventeen, brought it to uni with me and love having an excuse to use it. In first year I made garlic butter with it, now I’m actually buying spices that need to be toasted and crushed. I feel like I’m progressing!

3. Tagine – this was a birthday present from Hairy’s Nottingham brother. It’s a beautiful little beastie and has served me well. I haven’t used it as much as I’d like to and it’s languishing on the top of the kitchen cupboard but the fact that I own it feels me with a warm fuzzy feeling.

         Here it is! I think that I’ve actually cooked the recipe that it’s showing there as well…It’s some version of meatballs and it’s pretty tasty!

4. Rocking chair. I bought a rocking chair about three years ago for a tenner off a pre-loved site. Hairy and I lugged it two miles back to where he was living at the time because I couldn’t fit it in at my student place and he said it was okay. He also promised me that he would sand it down and varnish it because it’s a fetching lilac at the moment. It’s been three years. What do you think has happened with it?

5. Swords. Hairy owns a beautiful Aragorn sword that I’m always tempted to steal. It’s residing in the corner of our bedroom because our alarm downstairs has a horrible tendency of going off at 3am and terrifying both of us, except Hairy’s brave enough to go downstairs and investigate and likes to have something he can scare any intruders with. So far, nobody has had to confront an angry Hairy in his dressing gown.

Image

6. Memory box. As seen (partially) above, and probably told of before, Hairy and I managed to synchronise anniversary presents on our first anniversary and got each other memory boxes to hold tickets, train passes, photos, birthday cards and the like. I only look at it every once in a while, but I love that I have it and I love the memories it holds.

7.Tarot cards. I have a set of celestial themed tarot cards that I’ve had for years and years, since before I came to university. At the point I was totally into tarot and mysticism so I felt that I had to have a pack. I’ve kept them because sometimes I still sit and do myself a reading. It’s good for me in times when I feel a bit confused and just the process of sitting down, being quiet and actually figuring out what is wrong helps.

8. Multiple corsets. Again a relic of former times when I used to go out a lot and a corset is an invaluable weapon. I have some that I’ve never touched, some that I will never touch again but I love owning them just in case. Plus when I’m shown beauties like this it’s hard to resist getting more!

9. A sick hoodie. The first folk festival I went to with Hairy was also one where he spent waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much money on everything and bought us a sick hoodie – that is to say, one that we wear when we’re not feeling well. It’s reversible, incredibly warm and rather amazing. It also has an elephant on it.

10. Multiple fancy dresses

Crazy witch face. Photo shoot I did, dress I love. It’s my witch dress! Black cobweb style lace 😀

My other fancy dress from the folk festival! The other one is the witch dress. This was at a wedding of Hairy’s brother and it makes me insanely happy.

Hair loves his white suit! Not a splendiferous quality photo, but another fancy dress. Woop! I own many because I love them, but never have reasons to wear them.

* I changed the list because it’s funnier this way, plus it also feels less entitled and poncy.

And final, slightly serious (also tipsy) addition. I do not like wanting to reconnect with people that are no longer in my life, whether it was my choice or not. Every once in a while I get nostalgic and miss the times and memories that we once had. I don’t think it’s worth trying to get back in touch, but it makes me sad because I had some truly amazing times with some wonderful people and it’s such a shame when you look back on it. I miss the times we had, and wish that friendships didn’t fail.

v\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
o\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
w\:* {behavior:url(#default#VML);}
.shape {behavior:url(#default#VML);}

Thursday, November 14, 2013
Are you a morning person or a night owl?

I guess I’ll have to say I’m a three naps a day kind of person. I take after Pops – can’t stay in bed late unless I’m shattered, so Hairy is always dragged out of bed by about nine every Saturday morning. I think he hates me a little bit for that. I have a bit of a midday slump unless I’m busy, perk up about dinner time and then normally hit the hay about 11pm. On the other hand, I love being up and about when nobody else is around and taking late night walks.

Maybe I’m just anti social?

I enjoyed writing my ten things list the other day, so I figured I’d try another one. Here goes on  ten things I love to own but really don’t use that often*:

  1. . Clearly part of the original list that I abandoned when Hairy came home bearing rum. One – I don’t own Hairy; and two – he gets regular use. Never gathers dust (although that may be the showers I force him into).
  2. Mortar and pestle. I absolutely love that I own one of these; I’ve had it since I was about seventeen, brought it to uni with me and love having an excuse to use it. In first year I made garlic butter with it, now I’m actually buying spices that need to be toasted and crushed. I feel like I’m progressing!
  3. Tagine – this was a birthday present from Hairy’s Nottingham brother. It’s a beautiful little beastie and has served me well. I haven’t used it as much as I’d like to and it’s languishing on the top of the kitchen cupboard but the fact that I own it feels me with a warm fuzzy feeling.
    Here it is! I think that I’ve actually cooked the recipe that it’s showing there as well…It’s some version of meatballs and it’s pretty tasty!
  4. Rocking chair. I bought a rocking chair about three years ago for a tenner off a pre-loved site. Hairy and I lugged it two miles back to where he was living at the time because I couldn’t fit it in at my student place and he said it was okay. He also promised me that he would sand it down and varnish it because it’s a fetching lilac at the moment. It’s been three years. What do you think has happened with it?
  5. Swords. Hairy owns a beautiful Aragorn sword that I’m always tempted to steal. It’s residing in the corner of our bedroom because our alarm downstairs has a horrible tendency of going off at 3am and terrifying both of us, except Hairy’s brave enough to go downstairs and investigate and likes to have something he can scare any intruders with. So far, nobody has had to confront an angry Hairy in his dressing gown.Image
  6. Memory box. As seen above, and probably told of before, Hairy and I managed to synchronise anniversary presents and got each other memory boxes to hold tickets, train passes, photos, birthday cards and the like. I only look at it every once in a while, but I love that I have it and I love the memories it holds.
  7. Tarot cards. I have a set of celestial themed tarot cards that I’ve had for years and years, since before I came to university. At the point I was totally into tarot and mysticism so I felt that I had to have a pack. I’ve kept them because sometimes I still sit and do myself a reading. It’s good for me in times when I feel a bit confused and just the process of sitting down, being quiet and actually figuring out what is wrong helps.
  8. Multiple corsets. Again a relic of former times when I used to go out a lot and a corset is an invaluable weapon. I have some that I’ve never touched, some that I will never touch again but I love owning them just in case. Plus when I’m shown beauties like this it’s hard to resist getting more!
  9. A sick hoodie. The first folk festival I went to with Hairy was also one where he spent waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too much money on everything and bought us a sick hoodie – that is to say, one that we wear when we’re not feeling well. It’s reversible, incredibly warm and rather amazing. It also has an elephant on it.
  10. Multiple fancy dresses.

* I changed the list because it’s funnier this way, plus it also feels less entitled and poncy.

And final, slightly serious (also tipsy) addition. I do not like wanting to reconnect with people that are no longer in my life, whether it was my choice or not. Every once in a while I get nostalgic and miss the times and memories that we once had. I don’t think it’s worth trying to get back in touch, but it makes me sad because I had some truly amazing times with some wonderful people and it’s such a shame when you look back on it. I miss the times we had, and wish that friendships didn’t fail.

 

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:10.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;}

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

