Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Plugged in or not?

on November 19, 2013

Tuesday, November 19, 2013
How much of the day are you plugged in? Do you consciously set aside offline time, or does it happen whenever it happens?

I do spend a lot of my day plugged in if I’m at home. I get up, check emails and then spend a large amount of time online until I have to go do something else or Hairy comes home. I don’t give myself specific hours to keep to being online or offline because I’m awful when it comes to keeping to restraints! If I was told to only spend two hours online, I would push it to the absolute limit and then get annoyed and sneak online anyway. It’s better if I get bored of it myself.

Most of my evenings I spend offline, unless you count World of Warcraft as online which I don’t because it’s a game that I’m playing that happens to be internet based. I make sure that I spend time with Hairy whether that’s reading, watching a film or forcing him into helping me tidy.

I also recently have been spending my afternoons sat in front of a programme and beading (hence the beaded butterfly!), because I like to have noises in the background and sitting in the living room is closer to the tea and the fire.

How about you? Do you need to make sure that you spend time offline or does it just happen?

I’m setting myself some challenges for the next year. It’s been four months since I graduated and although I haven’t been too lazy I’m going to make sure I do challenge myself. In the next year I’m setting myself a year’s bucket list: going to try to read 100 books, watch 50 films and craft at least 25 different projects. Books can be either Kindle or paper form, but I want to make sure that I actually finish reading them so I’ll pop them up on here as I finish them.

So:

  1. Wuthering Heights
  2. Jane Eyre
  3. Madame Bovary
  4. Great Expectations
  5. Emma
  6. H.G Wells – we have a collection of short stories so I’ll wade through that šŸ˜€
  7. H.P. Lovecraft – got to have a bit of eldritch in your life.
  8. Toni MorrisonĀ Beloved. I love this book and am definitely due a re-read.
  9. David Mitchell Cloud Atlas. Keep meaning to read it, never get around to it.
  10. Re-reading The Lord of the Rings.
  11. Joanne HarrisĀ Holy Fools
  12. Joanne HarrisĀ Blackberry Wine
  13. Joanne HarrisĀ Five Quarters of the Orange
  14. Joanne HarrisĀ Gentlemen and Players
  15. Terry Pratchett’sĀ Raising Steam
  16. Philip PullmanĀ His Dark Materials
  17. Joe AbercrombieĀ The Heroes. Bought on a whim, never finished.
  18. Neil GaimanĀ Anansi Boys
  19. Hilary MantelĀ Wolf Hall
  20. China MievilleĀ Kraken – I nearly finished it and then we moved and I’ve completely forgotten where I was.
  21. Ralph EllisonĀ The Invisible Man
  22. Stuart HillĀ Cry of the Icemark
  23. HellerĀ Catch 22
  24. Gabriel Garcia Marquez One Hundred Years of Solitude
  25. Robert RankinĀ Retromancer
  26. RankinĀ Waiting for Godalming
  27. Jasper FfordeĀ Lost in a good book
  28. FfordeĀ The Eyre Affair
  29. Crime and Punishment
  30. Memoirs of a Geisha
  31. The Handmaid’s Tale

I’ve run out of ideas. Any suggestions of books I should totally definitely read like RIGHT NOW will be added to my list, along with films to watch and possible crafty shenanigans.

To a year of splendiferous shenanigans!

5 responses to “Plugged in or not?

  1. I believe you have a point. I think that I am a good girl because I dont watch tv but I am online constantly. I have finished writing a book actually ‘channelling’ a book and now I find myself getting lost on the internet and before I know it hours have gone by….I think some offline time would be good for me. Thanks for reminding me:)

  2. An Autobiography of a Yogi by Yogananda!!!

  3. I love the idea of making a list of things to accomplish in the next year. I think I want to do that too but am not sure yet what those goals will be !!!
    I do spend an awful amount of time online between my own blogs, reading other blogs, and working on my Etsy store, and lets not forget facebook !!
    You have an amazing list of books, not sure I can add one to that !!
    Great plan and I look forward to hearing about your next year as it unfolds !!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

šŸ¦… SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!ā„¢

