Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Pride goes before a fall.

on November 27, 2013

Wednesday, November 27, 2013
What accomplishment are you most proud of?

What I’m totally not proud of at the moment is having turned into a puddle of snot on the floor. I have a horrendous head-cold and I can barely breathe. My nose is stuffed up, I have a sinus headache and my face hurts from how much I’ve had to blow my nose. I swear my nose isn’t big enough to have produced this much grotch!

There are a lot of things that I’m proud of having done. I’m insanely proud of the fact that I completed my degree with a result I can be happy with and believe that I deserve. My biggest worry while I was waiting for my results was that it would just have been another tick on the list of “stuff I have done that I did kind of okay in, but should have done better”. That list is a mile long and I’m glad to have broken the cycle with my degree. I would have been devastated if I had got a bad result – it would have been a lot of money wasted to be ashamed of the result!

I’m proud of singing in Canterbury Cathedral with my Chamber Choir when I was at school. I did it once in the actual cathedral, and once in the grounds. It’s one of those things that I can always be massively proud of because it was an interesting experience to say the least! I’m not sure I remember what the actual occasion was and why we were there, but our tiddly choir of about twelve school girls sang and then got drowned out by an enormous American gospel choir.

I’m proud of the play I stage managed while I was at school, and it was actually part of one of the best days of my life. We did Journey’s End when I was in lower sixth and it was a tiny cast, tinier stage crew and directed by my two drama teachers who were just amazingly dedicated and passionate about getting the best possible performance. We did a few nights at school and then took it to a real theatre where I talked to the stage manager about stage managing things and then we proceeded to rebuild the set, do a rehearsal, perform the play and then dismantle it all. All in one day. It was one of the busiest, most stressful and most rewarding things I’ve done.

Also at school, I took part in a game of Spelling Bee when I was asked to by one of my teachers. I was on the student team and we played against the teachers. I’m still, to this day, over the moon with the fact that I beat everyone else including all the teachers. I ended up on the list of reserve words and only had another three to go when I got stumped by a word I’d never heard of before. GO ME!

I’m proud of my relationship. Hairy and I are three years into a ridiculously happy relationship that we need to work at and still do. We talk about the things that worry us, that make us happy and make time for each other. (Hairy’s currently wrapped in a towel turban and brushing my hair). I’m proud of the fact that I haven’t screwed it up, haven’t pushed Hairy away by being silly and that we’re getting married.

I’m proud of my beading. I’m really happy that this is finally a craft that I can finish projects in. I did crochet, knitting, quilling and gave all of them up. I used to sketch in the side of my school notebooks but never concentrated on it or got any better. Finally I have a craft that I love doing and I can be proud of the end result. I made a necklace that I’m going to give to Hairy’s mum for Christmas, Mother had requested roses, my cousin wants a moustache and Hairy’s sister in law has asked for a beaded headband. I think the one that I’m proudest to have completed is my butterfly though. It was easier than I expected but needed a helluva lot of patience with the thin wire!

Image

Finally, I’m proud of vaguely passing as an adult. I have a house, I get paid. I pay bills, buy groceries and discuss gardening and which light bulbs we need. I go to the pub, organise my own time and set up date nights with Hairy where we go out for dinner. Like grown ups do. I’m sure everyone feels this but hey – I don’t feel old enough to be doing any of those things! I discuss the state of the job market, bemoan the fact that food is getting more expensive and worry about my over draft! When did I start to be an old person?

So there we go. I can’t say what I’m proudest of, but I’ve done good things. What about you?

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

