Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Happy December!

on December 3, 2013

It’s nearly Christmas! I have cracked out the Christmas songs, the advent house and calendar and Hairy is out getting supplies of mulled wine and mince pies to last us through the night. Even more excitingly Hairy has managed to swing it so we’re having a real Christmas tree this year that will shed its beautiful needles everywhere and smell excitingly like Christmas.

Can you tell I’m excited?

I’ve just had an amazing weekend away in London with Hairy and my sister; it was just beautiful. We arrived pretty late on Friday and got stuck in on Friday night activities (booze and amazing chocolate goodness), chatted and generally relaxed. On Saturday we went to a lovely little city farm (linky linky) that turned out to be way closer than we expected and laughed our way around. There were giant rabbits that looked like they’d just been in an epic ninja fight that we missed by seconds, a scary looking alpaca and goats with craaaaazy eyes. Seriously, goats have terrifying eyes.

See? Scary eyes.

After that, adorable crafty place, pub and more pub. My sister took us to a lovely pub on Wimbledon Common called the Hand in Hand which scandalously enough didn’t have anything mulled going on when we got there but had a pub dog and good scotch eggs so all was well. We went down with the full intention of doing London-y things like visiting the Natural History Museum, the V&A, going to Harrods and all the rest of that malarkey but instead we did country like things and went to a country feel pub! It was lovely though and incredibly relaxing. 

And now for something slightly different.

Top ten things I love about Christmas:

  1. Decorating the house. There’s something special about decorating the house and putting up the tree. In my house Christmas didn’t start until Saint Nicholas sat on the top of the tree, but we had room decorations and fairy lights and mistletoe and everything.
  2. Mince pies. Om nom nom! Hairy doesn’t like mince pies so I get to eat all the mince pies. I have twelve of the little beauties sat by my elbow right now and they’re calling to me. Unfortunately I must show restraint because I’m planning pineapple Eton mess for pudding.
  3. Mulled wine. What’s not to love? Warm, sweet spiced wine that you can swig sip genteelly at any time of day! I love getting a mug of it at the Christmas market in town and wandering around hugging it in my hands.
  4. The best excuse to eat everything ever. Everyone expects to put on weight in December, so you can just munch on whatever takes your fancy! Mince pies, nuts, oranges, leftover turkey… I’m drooling already.
  5. Seeing friends and family. I don’t see people as often as I’d like, and I’m really looking forward to spending time with my family and Hairy’s family when we get a chance to see them this Christmas. I know I just came back from London, but my sister plays such a big part in our Christmas that I can’t wait to have her up to stay.
  6. The general good cheer that pervades everywhere. I know I definitely feel pretty happy for most of December and I love it when everyone else seems to be getting into the same mood. Hairy’s Nottingham brother can be a bit of a cynical sod the rest of the year, but he’s spending Christmas with us and it’s going to be lovely because he loves Christmas almost as much as I do. Downside: I’ll have a rival for my mince pies.
  7. Christmas music! Made up a new playlist tonight so I can listen to my wonderful cheesy Christmas goodness. Waterstones in Nottingham doesn’t play music, so I don’t get to hear
  8. On that note, Christmas films. Not tonight, but sooner to Christmas and I’ll be sitting down with Christmas treats and watching films I remember from my childhood like The Muppet Christmas Carol, Miracle on 34th Street and It’s A Wonderful Life.
  9. Hairy’s addition – how excited I get. That doesn’t help me much.
  10. Giving the perfect present. Don’t get me wrong, I love getting presents. I’m a greedy person and love new things but I also love seeing people’s faces when I’ve made the right call and given them something that they love.
  11. Bonus time! Christmas markets. I went to Germany on an exchange when I was younger and it was about Christmas time. The markets are absolutely amazing over there, and I love the ones we have here too! Hot food, beautiful presents and little trinkets that you can’t get from a shop.

How about you?

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

