Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Merry New Year my lovelies.

on January 3, 2014

I can now say that I’m getting married next year.

Little fishes I don’t feel grown up enough to be saying that!

Anyway, a very happy New Year to all of you and I hope that you had a splendid Christmas and New Year period, full of fun, frolics and festivities. I’ve had a lovely time for the most part, and therefore can’t wait to get back to the gym to do a bit of damage control 😀 I’ve had a month straight of mince pies and I’m looking forward to a bit of healthy food because I’m slightly insane and love it.

Do you do New Year’s resolutions? I actually don’t since I’m terrible at keeping them, and I tend to start wanting to change things and make new habits just before Christmas (hence year challenge of reading 100 books and film watching thing). I’m already going to the gym, making more crafty projects and reading more books. I would like to make sure that I spend time with the friends that matter to me, but that’ll be something that I try to do regardless of a change in the year or not.

Actually I spent New Year with one of Hairy’s brothers who lives down in the country and is incredibly outdoorsy and self sufficient. After spending a few days with him, Hairy and I have decided that we’d like to try growing some of our own vegetables this year, including potatoes, onions and garlic because we go through those at a rate of knots! It may also be useful in the chutney making endeavors since the Christmas chutney I made went down a treat and basically disappeared in the two days that we were there.

Back again to the topic of the change in the year. A lot has changed for me in the past year, pretty much all of it for the better actually!

  1. I graduated. Actually, I finished my whole degree! It was scary, stressful and slightly anti-climactic in the end, but I have to admit that I’m glad I stuck with it and completed my course.
  2. We went to see Cirque du Soleil for our third anniversary! Slightly blurry picture, but it was a stupendous evening and well worth a watch.
  3. Obviously one of the biggest things to happen this year is that Hairy asked me to marry him. I don’t have a picture of the actual moment, but here’s one just before he proposed.
  4. I don’t have a photo for this one either, but I went to see Turisas in Nottingham with Hairy and again it was amazing. I didn’t manage to get to any folk festivals last year, but I’m hoping to manage a few this year!
  5. I got a book of beaded bugs and made this butterfly. This was a bit of a turning point in my crafting as I’ve really started doing a lot more with it and expanded what I’m doing. I’m now on ornamental knotting, which is a frustrating hobby to say the least!

 

 

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

