Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Thursday’s child has far to go.

on January 5, 2014

I am a Thursday child, thus I have far to go. Clearly this is referring to the traveling plans as I mean to see the entire globe, right?

It’s my birthday next Friday, hence the thoughts about my birthday because Sister mine has been asking what I would like for my birthday. (Hint, I haven’t got a clue because I’m awful like that). Hairy has organised birthday drinks for the night before I turn 23, so I’m really looking forward to spending some time with friends that I haven’t seen for a while.

One of the hardest things for me is reaching out to people I haven’t spoken to for a while. I expect people to think the way that I think, so I expect them to only be doing things because they feel like they have to, rather than they actually want to. I really like Hairy’ Gloucester brother and his wife, but I worry that they only put up with me because they have to be nice to me because I’m going to marry Hairy. Anywho, I’m looking forward to the birthday drinks because Hairy has invited someone that I silently fell out with recently (I haven’t spoken to her since she upset me), so I’ll have to speak to her and make things up.

I’m struggling at the moment to feel happy for a few of my friends that have just got engaged. They’re talking about getting married this year, while I’m planning to get married next year. I’m competitive, and not entirely in a good way. I don’t like that they might be getting married before me for a number of reasons, but the biggest is that I got engaged before them. That means (in my head) that I should be married first! Logically I know that makes no sense, and as a good person I should be happy for their happiness, but sometimes I’m actually not that good at being nice.

I spent today working in the kids section at Waterstones. I love it quite a lot on the second floor, it’s full of gardening books, cookery books and crafty wonders. One of the best things that I noticed today (so I didn’t cry because it’s so messy) is that while the parents are obnoxious and insist that their angels are special and totally advanced, the kids themselves are always polite and rather adorable.

I had a woman who came in today looking for a series of books involving “Blue Kangaroo” – picture books it turns out. I found the author, pointed her in the right direction and got on with some shelving. Thirty seconds later and she’s back, asking if I can go find the books for her as “she’s looked but can’t find them”. I go look, find her a selection within a minute and pop over to her to show the books I found. She then sits down and reads them to her daughter before leaving without buying anything. THIS IS A BOOKSHOP, NOT A LIBRARY LADY. GOODNESS ME. That drives all of us nuts there in Waterstones. Yes, feel free to browse through your book and decide if you like it. Don’t sit there and read the WHOLE thing and then leave it out in the wrong place. ARGH!

I had a bit of a dip back into my teenage reading the other day with a book on my Kindle that I read to fill up some numbers on my list of books to read by next November. It was called The Flame Weaver, and it was the swords-and-sorcery type of book that I used to read all the time when I was a teenager. To give you an idea, the main female character had curly crimson hair, emerald eyes and was “soft, yet agile” and wielded a quarterstaff. They fell in love with the protagonist as well.

I’m also reading a truly awful zombie novel because it was called Danse Macabre, and I didn’t know what was going on with it until the first spelling mistake. Now I regret it, but I’m most of the way through it so I feel like I need to finish it!

I still have far to go in many different things. I’m still not amazing as a person – I’m jealous, lazy, rude and hold a grudge like nobody’s business. I’m still not in the job I want to end up in, although Waterstones is amazing. I’d like to work in so many different places before I settle down and I don’t want to end up hating the public because I work in retail. I want to travel, and I want to go so much further yet.

As a Thursday child, I’m happy. I’m very happy that I’ve still got a long way to go before I can settle down.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

