Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Burble.

on February 13, 2014

This is a very blank box staring at me. It’s not blank now because I’m writing in it, but I have been sat here for twenty minutes trying to figure out something to write about.

Welp, I’m not really sure. I’d love to write about something deep and meaningful but I’m genuinely a bit lost as to anything soulful right now. Something that actually makes me unbearably sad is watching old men being confused and upset. I’m watching “Fringe” with Hairy at the moment, and one of the characters is an older gent who (in one of the episodes) gets lost in Chinatown and can’t remember the emergency telephone numbers and has no money to get back home. I wept so hard at that.

So yeah, if you want to break my heart then just show me a lost and confused old man. Actually don’t, because that’s horrendously mean to both of us. Be nice to my imaginary old gent! Particularly if he’s wearing a cardigan.

I had a busy weekend. Frank Turner was brilliant, I ate way too much takeaway and didn’t go to the gym once, and we chatted about a lot of wedding things. On the other hand, cold and wet Cardiff has left me ill and craving cookies and actually insanely stressed out because I had the worst luck with public transport. I got stuck on one line of the Underground to the end of the line because the strikes shut the station I needed, and had to run for the train after pegging it across London on a variety of different vehicles because again, closed station.

Do you remember a while back that I set myself a challenge for the year? So many books, films and craft things to be done. Here’s how I’m doing!

TO BE DONE BY 19TH NOVEMBER 2014

  1. Wuthering Heights
  2. Jane Eyre
  3. Madame Bovary
  4. Great Expectations
  5. Emma
  6. H.G Wells – we have a collection of short stories so I’ll wade through that
  7. H.P. Lovecraft – got to have a bit of eldritch in your life.
  8. Toni Morrison Beloved. I love this book and am definitely due a re-read.
  9. David Mitchell Cloud Atlas. Keep meaning to read it, never get around to it.
  10. Re-reading The Lord of the Rings.
  11. Joanne Harris Holy Fools
  12. Joanne Harris Blackberry Wine
  13. Joanne Harris Five Quarters of the Orange
  14. Joanne Harris Gentlemen and Players
  15. Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam
  16. Philip Pullman His Dark Materials
  17. Joe Abercrombie The Heroes. Bought on a whim, never finished.
  18. Neil Gaiman Anansi Boys
  19. Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
  20. China Mieville Kraken – I nearly finished it and then we moved and I’ve completely forgotten where I was.
  21. Ralph Ellison The Invisible Man
  22. Stuart Hill Cry of the Icemark
  23. Heller Catch 22
  24. Gabriel Garcia Marquez One Hundred Years of Solitude
  25. Robert Rankin Retromancer
  26. Rankin Waiting for Godalming
  27. Jasper Fforde Lost in a good book
  28. Fforde The Eyre Affair
  29. Crime and Punishment
  30. Memoirs of a Geisha
  31. Collection of Sherlock Holmes.
  32. The Handmaid’s Tale
  33. Hugh Howey Wool
  34. Hugh Howey Shift
  35. Hugh Howey Dust
  36. Life after Life Kate Atkinson
  37. 12 Years a Slave Solomon Northup
  38. Markus Zusak The Book Thief

Films

  1. Monsters University
  2. Despicable Me 2
  3. The Experiment
  4. The Ice Man
  5. Frozen
  6. X Men Origins Wolverine
  7. About Time
  8. Brokeback Mountain
  9. Princess and the Frog
  10. Alice in Wonderland (Tim Burton)

Craft projects:

  1. Knotted necklace
  2. Knotted bracelet (cross knots)
  3. Sword belt and scabbard
  4. Wire tree
  5. Acetate stencil of tree
  6. Wire butterfly
  7. Hundreds of tiny earrings.
  8. Yellow rose.
  9. Rose necklace for Mama Spry.

I swear I’ve read more than that, but I can’t remember what! I’m barreling on with the craft projects since I’m making as much as possible for the wedding and I spent a lot of yesterday afternoon sat in front of a film making a teeny tiny acetate stencil that I can use on the front of our invitations. Effort abounds!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

