Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Things of a thing like variety.

on February 18, 2014

I’m going to ignore what the weather man is saying, Spring has officially sprung here in Nottingham. I’ve seen crocuses and snow drops which means that it has to be getting better from here and I’ll actually be able to spend time outside without turning into an icicle.

I like Spring. I like the idea of everything warming up again and seeing all the flowers coming to life. On the other hand, it means I really have to deal with the muck and leaves that have accumulated in the garden over winter.

It’s hard knowing what to write when I’ve fallen out of the habit. I’m happy in pretty much everything at the moment, so I don’t have any funny-yet-deprecating rants to post, but all the good things are happening in a few months time so I can’t really update you on much.

Hairy and I have already (after a month) reached the point of just wanting to get the wedding out of the way. It seems like all we ever talk about or hear about is wedding related and planning. I know we have to because we only have six months to get this beastie organised, but the level of stress is rather remarkable. Well meaning advice and opinions are flowing in from all sides, and while I love that I’m getting married this year I’d actually quite like to be beyond the organising bit and on the honeymoon already. Yes?

There’s plenty that I could and really should be getting on with. I could read my book, go to the gym, clean and do chores, plan wedding related things, send off our notice of marriage to the registry office, make the invitations… And yet what I’m actually doing is wasting time on the internet. Things feel like they’re in a bit of a limbo at the moment, and for some reason I’m finding it hard to get the energy to throw into making stuff happen.

To end on a positive note – got the registry office booked, got a venue for the reception, narrowed down bridesmaid dresses to two options, this one or this one (I prefer the first one but I’m not sure if that’s just the one I’d choose for myself), figured out what we’re doing for little people involved in the wedding and sorted what we’re doing for food and hen do. Hairy’s found something he wants to do for his stag do that mercifully doesn’t involve strippers! It feels like we’re getting there but not at the same time.

Sorry for the slightly not really a post post. I wanted to post something before it had been a week again, but like the sky my life is a bit grey and uninspiring at the moment! I’m hoping that the sun will come back soon!

One response to “Things of a thing like variety.

  1. I really like both the dresses, but I agree with you, like the first one a lot more than the second !!Love the colors you are looking at too, very pretty !! Just enjoy the process, life takes off as you get older and you will wish you had enjoyed every second of the engagement !!
    Are you making your own jewelry for yourself and your girls ?
    Thanks for the post, glad to hear from you !! I am sure the sun will come out soon, waiting for something exciting is always hard, but trust me, your beautiful day will be here before you know it !!!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

