Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

LONG post because I’ve been lazy. Hi guys :D

on March 6, 2014

I asked Hairy to inspire me with a blog post. He just looked at me, told me my eyes are pretty and then ran away to make me tea. Hairy is lovely, but utterly hopeless at times.

It’s been World Book Week at work this week – I’ve only been working today, but since I’m also working on Saturday they’ve asked me to dress up. I have no idea – I’m terribly at fancy dress! Hairy’s going to be away this weekend, so I can’t even steal his brain to help me.

I love Sherlock Holmes. I think Conan Doyle wrote a brilliant character, clever stories and ingeniously used every strand and tiny scrap of writing to pull a cohesive conclusion together. I’ve had a look at a prompt website and there’s a quote by Arthur Conan Doyle: “It has long been an axiom of mine that the little things are infinitely the most important”. I have to agree on so many counts!

There is the smallest difference between cancelling plans the day before and cancelling plans on the day (flaky friends, this means you), but it makes such a difference. I had plans, made last week, to do an activity with someone I know tonight. I got in touch with them yesterday and they didn’t reply. I had to contact them again today and only found out a few hours before that they weren’t going to be available but they hadn’t bothered to let me know.

The tiniest hint of hesitation can also be the moment when the floor falls out from under your feet. You ask somebody their opinion and they hesitate for a second and you just know in that instant that they are having to think of the nicest way of not offending you. “Do I look nice today?” you ask. “… Of course you do!”. Just one second, and yet you know that they’re not being entirely truthful.

It’s also the little things that we take most for granted. Hairy and I have been appallingly grotchy for the past two weeks, and I forgot how good it feels not to be ill. For the first time, I can breathe without sniffing and I’m not lying awake at night coughing. I am achy and sore after a weirdly intense gym session yesterday, so I’m aware of how amazing it is when it doesn’t hurt to climb the stairs or stand up.

Hairy bought nice eggs from the butchers last week. The difference between those eggs and the basics eggs that I had leftover from Guides was miniscule, but the flavour difference was spectacular. The non-battery farmed eggs were so much eggier in flavour and actually had colour to them!

Speaking of eggs, it’s the little things that can spark off the memories you thought you’d forgotten. I will always think of my great-grandad Honeybone when I see a double yolker, or remember him trying to teach me how to paint. I will always think of my Grandad when I smell cigar smoke, and the smell of Marc Jacobs perfume is intrinsically linked to my memory of my sister.

It’s Lent, and traditionally a time for giving something up. I have decided, even though Hairy isn’t joining me in giving anything up because he thinks he’s pretty much perfect, that I won’t be using facebook during the weekdays. It’s not a hardship really, it’s nothing life threatening and no one really contacts me on there anyway! And as Hairy said, I can use the time I’m not spending on there to work on my blog.

And now because I like to go all out when I actually do get around to things, I’m sharing my world as well!

Would you prefer a reading nook or an art, craft, photography studio?

This is such a difficult one. If I could, I’d have both. I love to craft and I would love to have an entire studio dedicated to working on beautiful things but that would mean I’d spend more time on my own. I think I’d like to have a reading nook, full of blankets and cushions with a soft light so I can read in comfort!

Would you prefer the TV in the living room or another room?

In the living room. Hairy and I are terrible for ignoring many rooms in our house, and we tend to create ourselves a nest of “home” in our living room and our bedroom. For Hairy, the TV is incredibly important because we use it for gaming and that’s time we spend together. Recently I’ve been playing Sims while he pretends to read but gets sucked into what I’m doing!

What color would you like your bedroom to be?

I don’t know really. When I was a little girl, I had a yellow room that I loved. I painted it turquoise just before I moved out, but I still love the colour and the room. The room we have now has grey and silver wallpaper, but is a pretty uninspiring white on the other three walls. I’ve always wanted a sunburst room – burnt orange, deep yellow and red in waves on the wall. I don’t know why, and it would probably be pretty overwhelming but there we go. I love warm colours over cool colours, and would always go for something that glows rather than reflects the light!

Would you prefer a one floor house or multiple levels?

Multiple! Flats are good for living all on one level, but I don’t like that it’s so hard to partition your life off. When we lived in Linen House, we were drawn towards the mezzanine bedroom but it became one of the most annoying things to live with by the end! I like to section off my life, and although it was nice to be able to be in bed and still talk to Hairy while he made the tea I prefer a house with an upstairs!

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for the two extra days I had with Hairy, even though it was because he had to take the time off due to sickness. I am exceptionally happy that I got to spend a bit more time with him just lazing about at home because I’ve been working most weekends recently and I miss that man. He’s my best friend and my husband to be for a reason! I’m looking forward to going to EM con – a geek-tastic convention that’s coming up soon and I’m not working either! It should be a brilliant day, and we don’t even have to leave the city to go do it.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

