Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

My wisdom teeth hate me.

on March 11, 2014

This Saturday just gone was World Book Day craft goodness at Waterstones and I got to go into work all dressed up as a character from a book! I spent a day trying to figure out what to go dressed up as, flirted with the idea of trying to be a Cheshire cat but that required too much effort and money to pull off. I went with elf lady/Maid Marian kind of character and got to spend six hours with small children making masks. One little girl got really into the whole craft thing and made me a lollipop out of craft sticks and paper, and one of the other little girls made an elephant mask then wandered off making elephant noises. Genuinely adorable!

Image

Forgive the weird face. It was first thing in the morning and I wanted to get a photo before I went to play with small children all day. I also went out for my friend’s leaving do wearing the exact same thing – one of my colleagues actually hit the nail on the head – is it really dressing up if it’s what I wear normally?

Image

I don’t normally do much with my hair (like the new colour?), but I made a bit of an effort with it and did plaits and things to go to work. I even nabbed an old necklace and popped it in using hair grips! I think it was appreciated and it meant that I didn’t have to dig out something to wear from the basement like the other people on my floor did.

Image

Because Mother dearest likes smiley photos.

Image

This is not a good photo (daft self timer thing drives me crazy), but I love the belt which was one that Hairy bought for me as a surprise and so it’s staying in. This was my overall outfit for the day, minus the sword and cloak because I forgot to put them on to take photos with. You can also see Fat Gary lying where he was abandoned a few months ago!

Sadly I had a really bad night at Guides last night. It started off well – we planted seeds to grow for the summer: Sweet Peas, Begonias, Pumpkins and Sunflowers which I’m really excited about growing! I think every Guide leader has the nights where they end up drained, disappointed in the Unit and wondering why they even bother making the effort. It’s been creeping up on my recently: my Unit is absolutely awful for listening to instructions, can’t stop talking for more than two seconds at a time and won’t get involved properly with the games that I try to run.

It’s frustrating when you spend time and energy planning evening for twenty odd girls who then spend the evening on their phones, ignoring everything you say which means that you have to explain everything seventeen times. Multiple children coming up and asking for the instructions again and again when you’ve already told them what they’re supposed to be doing. In the end I gave up and let them organise their own game, which led to one of my favourite Guides (sssh, I’m not allowed to have favourites) in a situation that means I have to start talking to parents.

Hairy and I have been on it with the whole wedding shenanigans again! There were mixed communications with the venue booking, but Hairy gallivanted off to Gloucestershire and I think it’s near enough sorted out now. Bad new with the bridesmaid dresses though as it turns out they aren’t beautiful in real life. I think all the invitations have gone out now and we are actually getting responses on the website! I also had a terrifying moment of clarity the other day. Not only am I becoming a wife, I’m also becoming an Auntie (for real this time!) in August when I marry Hairy!

Reading wise: I’ve just finished one of the books on the teenage shortlist for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize called If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch. It was a good read and I can definitely see why it was recommended for the shortlist. I’m now halfway through Catch-22 which I’m also really enjoying (shameful moment: I didn’t know it was a satire until I started reading it and found it really funny!).

It’s been a good week apart from the disappointment of Guides being silly – I’ve been given the week off work due to paid holiday leave, had overtime today and still managed to go to the gym! We’ve finally had the lights fixed so we don’t have to go upstairs in the dark any more, and finally I have good things to look forward to: it’s EM con this Sunday and I’m not working at all this weekend. YAY!

And sharing my world again.

Describe yourself in a word that starts with the first letter of your name.

Hairy says lovely. That’s cheating (so is loud) because it’s his own name that he’s thinking of there. He’s now saying “squee” as a description of how he feels about me. Still cute, still useless… I think I’d have to go with serendipitous. I have loved the word ever since I learned what it meant, and I think it’s actually quite fitting as a lot of things seem to go right for me by pure chance. I may not be the luckiest person in games of chance, but in the game of life good stuff always seems to fall into my lap!

If 100 people your age were chosen at random, how many do you think you’d find leading a more satisfying life than yours?

I think it’ll be about half and half. Yes, I’m in a minimum wage job with hardly any hours but on the other hand I love my job and I’m happy in it. We’ve got enough that we’re not struggling to survive, and we can afford treats every now and then. I have an amazing partner, enough good friends that the rubbish ones don’t matter and only occasionally groaning wisdom teeth (they are right now and it’s a killer. I think other people my age are earning more, and traveling which is what I really want to do but I’m still satisfied.

If you were a tree, would you become a book or furniture? Please describe.

I think that I would rather become a book. Furniture gets knocked around, hot coffee spilled all over it and stays inside the house for the most part. If I were a book, then I’d be loved and carried around. I’d get to lie on people’s chests in the sunshine, travel and see the world as well as being dropped in the bath. I could become an excellent masterpiece, be worth hundreds of pounds because I’m a first edition or something. The things printed on my pages would always be a work of love, rather than the statistically more likely being a bit of furniture from Ikea. At least if I were a book, I’d never be from Ikea.

You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with?

Hairy. Without a doubt – we could play silly word games and keep each other from freaking out.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

 

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

