Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Age becomes her.

on April 9, 2014

Today was a day when I suddenly realised that I’m acting far too much like a grown up for my own good. The thing that sparked this realisation? I finally got to do something that I’ve been looking forward to doing all winter – using my rotary dryer. I haven’t spent all winter looking forlornly at one that’s stashed inside, I’m not quite that sad and it’s my new toy. I did spend all winter planning to buy one and use it as soon as the weather was nice enough.

Today was that day.

I also spent a large part of yesterday evening making teeeeeny tiny little trees to go inside ridiculously small bottles. I mean, bottles so small you could lose them up your nose (I definitely tried to put one up Hairy’s nose). Why? I hear you cry, Why would you submit yourself to such torment on such a tiny scale? It’s because I had a dream (not one of those bizarre dreams, but I was definitely not awake) about using them as decorations for the wedding.

I hold a tree in the palm of my hand. Heh – bonsai tree to the max!

Okay, so they’re a bit sideways. But still, TINY TREES. I was incredibly proud of myself for sticking with it long enough to get them made – I did nearly give up because the wire was overworked and entire branches kept falling off. I’m really happy I persevered as I think they turned out pretty well. I’ve already had two dibs on them! I think I may make make the next batch a bit bigger though…

Back on track. Hairy and I now have discussions about credit ratings, mortgages and what we need to get done around the house. I plan what I want to plant in the garden for next year (totally weird one that – haven’t stayed in the same house for two years running since I moved out 5 years ago), I buy food specifically to preserve it and we talk about going on holiday.

With my friends I am now way more likely to go for a cup of tea rather than hard spirits. A night out is a rare thing indeed, and while it was AMAZING to go out last Friday and dance like a mad thing we had to leave just before midnight because I had work the next day. When we talk, we talk about the past as if it were a long time ago and sometimes it actually is!

Obviously, if you want to go that far, then the fact that I’m getting married in about four and a half months is also a terrifying sign of how grown up life is at the moment. I’m getting quotes for portaloos, figuring out gift lists and trying to remember if I’ve forgotten to invite anyone I should have done. The answer to that is definitely a resounding yes. But on the other hand, I have got a maid of honour that most people would give their right arm for and she is planning the most fabulous sounding hen do I’ve ever heard of.

Hairy’s best man is coming up next week so that they can go suit shopping. Hairy and I have plans this weekend to go and try on wedding rings so we know what sizes to get and what we like the look of best. I also need to get a clip for my engagement ring because DEAR GODS AND LITTLE FISHES I lose it off my finger on a far too regular basis.

And on the final hand, I still manage to be a right tit at sometimes and wonder whether I should be allowed out in public. A lot of my hobbies and passions are desperately uncool – does that make me an old lady, or too immature to realise that I shouldn’t burble on about the tensile strength of wire and gaze longingly at glass workshops in public?

But anyway, if you’ll excuse me I’m off to watch cartoons and play with sparkly things.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

