Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

So, why do I blog?

on April 16, 2014

I’ve signed myself up for another blogging challenge because I am a cool person like that. I know I’ve been blogging for over a year now and it is actually getting a bit harder to figure out what to write (long term writer’s block anyone?) and I enjoy having some sort of framework to get me to working.

Why do I blog? It started out as a way to meet other people and help me feel a little less lonely while I was working on my last year at university. My blog became a way of getting some sort of validation, it gave me a place to form my opinions and to share the good and bad bits of my life with other people. Then there was that wobble last year when I nearly gave it all up and ever since then it’s been more difficult. Knowing that people I know are reading this suddenly means I am writing for faces I know rather than throwing each of my posts into the ether and hoping the blogging community will take kindly to it.

Why am I still writing? Because I still like being able to get my thoughts down and share even some parts of my life. It’s something that I do for me, and it’s something that I don’t want to give up. I am an incredibly flighty person; insanely prone to picking up a hobby and loving it for all of about three months before I lose interest in it completely. I’ve done that over and over throughout my life and each time I do it’s a disappointment to me because I didn’t have the gumption to see it through.

I don’t blog because I’m a leader in my field and have valuable information to pass on to you. I don’t do it to expand on a single subject, unless that subject is my life. I don’t want to be published, and although I love it when I get comments and hits on my blog it’s also not only about that. I don’t really know why I do it, but I do.

What would it look like if my blog exceeded my wildest dreams? I’d be posting twice a week, and getting hits and comments on everything. I don’t know the sort of community I’d like to have participating in my blog – that’s up to the people who’d like to know what I’m doing!

My three goals:

  1. I want to be posting something (anything at all) twice a week. I dropped down to once a week and that seems too slow for me. I need to keep interacting with my blog otherwise I forget about it and that’s not good! I think I’ll do a craft/what I’ve been making post and a what’s-going-on-in-my-life post. That’s two a week!
  2. I want to spend an hour a week reading and commenting on the blogs that I follow. I have always been pretty terrible at this, but I promise I will be doing better.
  3. I’m going to make a weekly feature (as I tried and failed with for Wish List Wednesday). I don’t know what it will be – please let me know if you have any ideas!

This is going to be up until August at least, and from then I can’t guarantee anything (wedding things may make me slightly insane).

 

3 responses to “So, why do I blog?

  1. cherokeewind says:

    Your goals are similar to mine in that I started with good intentions of blogging daily, then weekly and then….life got in the way…lol. I am striving to do better and with this group I think it will get me off my keister and get it going.

  2. I’m a creeper too. I read the blog and then realise that I don’t really have anything to add apart from “I TOTALLY AGREE” which sounds a bit creepy after the seventeenth time. I will totally be commenting more because I love it when people talk to me on my posts!

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

