Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Five places I want to go.

on April 23, 2014

Hairy stole my Easter egg. Well, no he didn’t because I asked him to hide it. Three Easter Eggs in one weekend between the two of us was definitely enough for me! It does mean that I’m sat here after my brutal gym session this morning having eaten a nice sensible salad craving something sweet and bad for me. I looked for it, but I can’t find it.

Last weekend was Easter weekend, and Hairy and I went down to Kent to visit my half of the family. As far as multiple family visits go, it was very nice. I was incredibly happy to see both my sister and little cousin, but we didn’t really have any time to do anything other than visit grandparents (again, totally lovely).

The best bit about my entire weekend was definitely playing Pop ‘n’ Hop (similar to Frustration) with my sister, cousin and Hairy. We had ice cream and then cracked out the game and the heat was on. Apparently we’re all insanely competitive as there was plenty of shouting and ganging up on Hairy (who still managed to win both times!), laughing and general good feeling. We also played cards (Hairy won again. You know what they say though, unlucky in cards but lucky in love and I’m sticking to that. That’s why I always lose).

Tell us about the top five places you’ve always wanted to visit. GO!

I don’t know about always wanted to visit because I was a bit odd as a child and didn’t really think about travelling in this world.

  1. On the other hand, I always wanted to go to Middle Earth. I couldn’t really decide where, but the top contenders were always Fangorn Forest (for the Ents!), Hobbiton in the Shire (for the beer!) and Helm’s Deep (for the caves!).
  2. I also wanted to go to Alagaësia – the country in the Inheritance cycle by Paolini. I kind of wanted to be a Dragon Rider although I did fall out of love with the books as I carried on reading them. On the other hand (again) – magic, dragons and beautiful tree cities in forests that were made by singing. And swords. I like swords.
  3. I loved reading Pullman’s Dark Materials and always wanted to go to Lyra’s Oxford so I could have a daemon too! For those of you who haven’t experienced the delight of Northern Lights and therefore don’t have a clue what I’m talking about, a daemon is part of your soul that manifests on the outside in the form of an animal that only settles down when you become an adult. Lyra’s world is close enough to ours that it wouldn’t be a big change but it was definitely appealing.
  4. I’m just re-reading it, but Eva Ibbotson wrote a beautiful book called Journey to the River Sea about a young girl who ends up in the Amazon near Manaus and I’ve always loved it. It’s not fantasy in the vein of my other childhood reading, but along with Isabel Allende’s amazing City of Beasts I have always wanted to go to the Amazon. I’d probably hate it in real life – too many bugs, too hot and sticky and all the rest of the tribulations that come with pasty white skin that burns, but if I had the chance to go I would in a heartbeat.
  5. Finally, there was a series of books by Tamora Pierce that started with Trickster’s Choice, and I’m pretty sure the heroine had blue hair. Knights, demi-goddesses and spying were definitely enough to make me want to go to Tortall.

And now I know you can’t actually get to other worlds?

  1. I want to go to Iceland. One of my friends went there to volunteer about half a year ago and it’s beautiful and I’m jealous.
  2. I want to go to Greek islands. I don’t really mind which one, but Hairy and I are hoping to go there on our honeymoon. Like grown ups and everything.
  3. I want to go to the Amazon. Yes, I totally said I would hate it and I probably will but even so. Some things are worth suffering for.
  4. I want to go to Norway and travel along the fjords, whether that’s by boat or by road I don’t really mind.
  5. And I want to go Cornwall again. I love it there – Tintagel especially.
Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

