Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Hodgepodge.

on April 29, 2014

Things aren’t really great right now. Hairy and I have just been hit with a massive bill because some prat quoted us the wrong amount for our direct debit and we’ve been paying less than half the amount we need to. We have an enormous debt built up that we didn’t know about, and now our bills have doubled. My hours are being reduced at work because summer is always tight and there just isn’t the business to have everyone there on full time hours. I’m down to 12 hours a week, pretty much entirely at weekends.

We would like to make changes to the house to make it more energy efficient – I’d love to instal solar panels, solar heating for our water and change up our boiler to a more efficient one. The catch? We live in rented accommodation so we can’t make changes without permission from the landlady.

Being a grown up totally sucks.

In good news though, Hairy and I have adopted a bunny (before we knew about the crazy bill). She was found by one of Hairy’s friends injured at the side of the road and taken to the vet – Hairy told me about it and I may have gone slightly barmy over the idea of having a pet finally. I spent a lot of yesterday running around like a mad thing trying to get stuff sorted for her. She’s safely installed in our back garden now, like she’s always lived here.

I found Hairy’s suit as well! He’s going to have to start exercising though because I found the exact one he wanted for £50 instead of £370 but the trousers are a size smaller than is entirely comfortable. Maybe he’ll be joining me in sweating it out in the gym sooner rather than later… Luckily we’ve hit the time of year that Hairy and I start going out for walks again, so it shouldn’t be too much of a hardship to fit in a bit more movement 🙂

It’s hard to believe that as of tomorrow, Hairy and I will be getting married in less than four months. We still need to write up our ceremony – any ideas for poems and readings that make for a good ceremony?

What are some words that just make you smile?

“Will you marry me?” They were some pretty smile-inducing words. “Of course we can get a rabbit!” – some more that made me pretty happy. I don’t know about singular words that make me smile, but there are some that I love the shape and sound of. “Dandelion”, “fudge”, “bubble” are all good words in my book. How about you?

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles or turn on the flashlight? How many of each do you own?

Light the candles, definitely. I’m always running out of battery on the torches, and always at the worst moments! Plus it’s much nicer to sit by candle light than to shine torches into each other’s faces.

What is the longest book you ever read?

Probably going to have to say Lord of the Rings – one story, three books, six volumes. About 1100 pages long in total I think, and it’s a bit of a beast. I think it just takes a while to get going, and I still love the book even now.

So you win a pet monkey at a fair, but this isn’t just any old monkey. It can do one trick for you whenever you want from getting a pop out of the fridge to washing your hair. What would be the trick?

The washing up was my first thought, since the washing up is my nemesis. I hate having to do it, but as we don’t have a dish washer the battle continues. But then I feel like that’s some sort of monkey abuse and I’d rather have a pet monkey that’s happy and doing fun tricks rather than the menial labour around the house… I think my ideal pet monkey trick would have to be something amazing like juggling or tap dancing. Everyone loves a juggling, tap dancing monkey… Right? I don’t know. I think I’d rather just have an awesome pet monkey that doesn’t fling poo at me.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I’m grateful that even though I have evil bills to pay, at least I don’t have to live at home. At least I have a home with all its groans and stresses than not having anywhere to call my own. I’m grateful that I have a beautiful pet to take care of, and I’m grateful that I do actually have a job. Life could always be worse and mine is pretty good.

In the week coming up, I’m looking forward to skyping with my little cousin who’s just done a placement interview so best of luck to her! I’m looking forward to meeting up with some friends for a drink tonight, and love that they include Hairy in social meetings. I am looking forward (in the long run) to finalising wedding plans, and finding out if one of my ideas will look as pretty in real life as I hope it will.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Myfanwy Hart!

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

