Runes and Rhinestones

I'm a modern day Viking, navigating my way through a stormy sea of stuff.

Chalks and choir.

on June 10, 2014

Hello again my dearies. Had another busy old few days with organising a birthday dinner at an offensively expensive buffet, followed by a night out with some of Hairy’s old friends from Portsmouth and then more work. YAY.

On the other hand, I got to meet some really awesome new people and reconnect with some others that I haven’t spent much time with recently.

So, choir. I’m actually going to be singing with a choir next Thursday – totally un-auditioned and free to join, hence why I’m doing it, but also sadly only a one off concert. I miss singing as I haven’t been in a choir since I left school *gulp* about five years ago now, and although I’d love to join another choir, membership fees are somewhat off putting. In any scenario, I shall be singing next Thursday with a choir that’s supposed to be about 700 members strong. Boom baby!

Last night was my Guides. My lovely, yet sometimes a little clueless, Guide unit. I am very fond of them all but sometimes I can’t help wondering if I was quite that incapable when I was their age. Last night is a case in point – we’re taking them out urban tracking next week and as we’re doing a science themed term I thought it might be a good idea to make the chalk we need.

Making chalk could probably be more difficult, but we had a really simple recipe. Poster paint, plaster of paris, water. Dissolve paint in water, add plaster of paris until it resembles butter-cream frosting. Spoon into cardboard tube molds (best to line with clingfilm to stop it from leaking everywhere).

How long do you think that would take? About half an hour, including faffing around trying to figure out how to line the tubes with clingfilm without it sticking to everything? Yeah, no. Our unit took over an hour and then still had to clean up.

Sometimes I worry about those girls. Or maybe I’m just mis-remembering – were you a useless child?

That’s it from me today. I have a busy day ahead of me with errands, leaving dos and my first choir rehearsal. Wish me luck!

 

 

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Ali Does It Herself

adventures in grown-up living

Bead It By Faith

Love beading sooo much I have to have a blog for it:)

everyday gurus

Everyday, Everywhere We Are Guided Towards Happiness

Geekritique

Movie & TV News | Book & Comic Reviews | Everything In-between

Chittle Chattle

Chit Chat and Whatever from Time to Time

The Seeker's Dungeon

Troubling the Surf with the Ocean

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

🦅 SoundEagle

Where The Eagles Fly . . . . Art Science Poetry Music & Ideas

Fat Heffalump

Living with Fattitude

Crafty Pants McGee

Adventuers in fine art, craft, kitchen, garden, parenthood and life.

Mon Plays Games

Where I talk about whatever.

JaniceHeck

Finding hope in a chaotic world...

GLORIOUS METTLE

Driven To Create!™

